A TRIBUTE TO NANDITHA – THE POET

 

My Mask too fine and serene,

My smile ugly, words worthless

The mask is torn to pieces

Still I wear a self conscious laugh….

 

These words were my cover picture for a long time in Facebook. I don’t know when I changed these words with a Royal Enfield. It was at least a year or more, that I had come across these words and I then totally failed to recall about it later. My inquisitive senses waked up seeing a post on her again in Facebook some days back and again a fan page forher in Facebook today. I had read about Nanditha the day I had seen the above words. But some how I revitalized my search today.

The above words had hidden downheartedness and kind of grief linked within them.

The same was the case with most of her poems. It was either filled with isolation, love and heartbreak, dejection, depression.

She was Nanditha. Born in Kerala at a place called Wayanad which is very close to Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. The first thing that strikes me about the place is its serene beauty. Like the beautiful words she used to base her writings on. I just wanted to share with my small bunch of fellow bloggers, some facts about her and pay her a small homage as I can.

Born in 1969, she has long list of educational qualifications. She had done her M.Phil in Chennai and worked as a teacher in an Arts and Science college at her place. She committed suicide in the year 1999 for a reason unknown even today.

The irony here is that none of her poems were meant to be published. She used to jot it down in her diary. These poems were later published posthumous in 2002. Only those written from 1985 to 1993 were found and published, none of her writings after 1993 were found. It is said that her first composition came at the age of 16. The main content of her composition were shattered bones, burnt hair and flesh and death.

Nanditha based most of her compositions on emotions of love, loneliness and death. I can’t help thinking that somewhere down the line she understood these feelings so well that she could convey them very well through her writings. Her language would be mostly Malayalam and English. She was bold enough that she wouldn’t live a fake life wearing a mask. There were many articles linking her as the subject but reaching nowhere. Some of it has mentions of her falling in love, which nobody is sure of. Also in one of the articles I happened to read that she was married.

I wanted to translate one of her poems, but who am I kidding. I won’t be doing justice to it. Hence all those who enjoy poems and  understand Malayalam can buy it or search online for some are available there.

Even today I find many people running behind her mystery, others writing about knowing her personally but to me this article is a tribute to her compositions. The beauty of her compositions reveal her unmatched talent.

 

PS : All the details about her is from google search. Credits to respective owners.

 

EDIT : Today while Maniparna commented on this long lost post, I again launched a small hunt for Nanditha’s poem and I found a blog dedicated to the same. I can’t thank the owner of that blog more for creating and posting her compositions. All credits and rights to the owner of the blog. I am just sharing it. Read it here.

42 thoughts on “A TRIBUTE TO NANDITHA – THE POET”

    1. Hello Ashmii..

      Her full name is Nanditha K.S. and she is often searched in Google as Nanditha poet or something related to compositions.

      I am giving you a couple of links to her compositions and life biographies:

      http://nandithadreams.blogspot.ae/

      http://www.sarathdr.com/2008/02/25/nandithayude-kavithakal/

      http://allaboutmozhi.blogspot.ae/2008/07/nanditha.html

      The name in which her book was published was ‘Nandithayude Kavithagal’ meaning ‘Poems by Nanditha’.

      Hope I could throw in some light 🙂

      PS : Again credits to respective owners.

    2. Hey Ashmii 😀

      There you go, A new pet name 😀

      Yeah most of the places have her same 4 lines covered. In the first link you can see another poem of her’s on the left side. The rest of her compositions are in regional language. Some of them are in English too. I think I will have to get a copy of her composition.

      1. Yes indeed. Her words caught my attention the moment I saw them. Her compositions in our regional language was also breath-taking.

        Thanks for passing by 🙂

      2. Hmmm :)….such a loss to literature world!!…May her soul take rebirth in human form with all her previous birth energy so that we be blessed for her writings again!!!!

  1. Anoope last line meant she learned to put a fake smile even if there is no mask?i checked the links every comments tells a lot about her.Thanks for sharing 🙂

      1. Yes now i can see the weeping of a hardened fan of her in your reply.Mate all good things will come to an end.sometimes without our permission,sometimes we decides and sometimes when time comes.it seems you are a jack of all trades.The best thing i see in your blog is variety.

    1. Hmm..You could call me her fan. Think of it in this way. When we write for others to see (like our blog posts) we try our level best to make it look good. Those compositions of her were never meant to be published. Yet amazing. That’s what I fell for..:D

      You are right, everything good and bad has to come to an end.

      I am happy that you see variety in my blog. Will try and maintain it this way 🙂

      Thank you for your comment, Sherin 🙂 Cheers

  2. Those lines are just literally filled with emotions!!
    I just googled some of her poems, they are beautiful yet soulful!! Anoop, you just made me familiar to a wonderful poet, thank you for that!!! 🙂
    -Purrfectgirl

    1. Yes, even the Malayalam version of her compositions are really powerful. Was my pleasure to share this with you guys 🙂

      Thank you for passing by, Purrfectgirl 🙂 Cheers

  3. Those lines you mentioned above are beautiful. Too bad I don’t know malayali and I can’t find anything in English. But you gave a great tribute to her.

    1. Very true 🙂 May be it’s their focus on darker side of life what makes them different.

      Thank you for your comment 🙂 Peace

  4. The lines are beautiful and full of insight….It’s so sad that she committed suicide just at the age of 40…such a talent..we lost her 😦 …

    You know, we have a Bengali poet, Sukanta Bhattacharya, who died only at the age of 21, out of extreme poverty…..he was ill with Tuberculosis, the treatment being too expensive for him to afford. The poems he wrote are now not only well-known and popular but one finds them extremely bold and full of maturity.He is one of my favourite poets.

    I just wonder how the society acts so carelessly about such talents when they are alive!

    1. Not even, she was 30 when we lost her. Its sad indeed.

      Sad that we lost Sukanta to a disease. The society never realizes the talents until it’s late. Plenty of examples to prove my point.

      One good news for you. I am going to add the link to her poems as an edit to the same post, some malayalam and mostly english. Hope you check this out and enjoy.

      Cheers mani !!!

  5. Nanditha is not a poet, but she shares her feeling through her poems, “Nanditha yude kavithakal” , its a very emotionally touching poems. when i red that poems deeply touching heart. very emotional..!

    1. This post was written by me say a year and a half ago. Still it gets comments and likes which makes me feel happy 🙂

      Her poems were deep and amazing. Words were powerful to invoke thoughtfulness.

      Thank you so much for reading 🙂 Have a great day.

      1. Yes Melinda. The only timeless post that I have written, but it is timeless cos of the virtue of somebody else though 🙂

    1. Hello Resh,

      Thank you so much for the link. It was a pleasure to read it again. I have read this a long back. 🙂

      This post is viewed by people even after a year of posting it. Just goes to say how amazing a poet she was.

      Regards!

    1. Hello there,

      There is not much details that I knew about Nanditha. This is all I read on the internet.

      If you want to do a Google search, ‘Nanditha the poet’ is the keyword.

Leave a Reply

