My GTI Mk4 :) #gti

( Disclaimer : This post is a tribute to my car, hence people I don’t ensure you guys an interesting post here.)

I WOULD RATHER ARRIVE 5 MINS LATE, THAN DEPART 25 YEARS EARLY

by Anonymous.

Vroom…Vroom..Vroooooooom….

The V5 engine kicking out some serious power. The revs above 5500 – 6000 rpm, the engine is audible and I am gunning the accelerator pedal. Yet again I am late to work and I want my GTI to take me to my workplace asap. Never have the GTI failed to do so, and today also it doesn’t fail. I drive really fast and save my lazy ass.

Something that I have really been particular about in life is ‘My Ride’. I wasΒ very selectiveΒ about my car.

My buddy GTI has been with me for the past 6 months, when I found it I knew it was abused by at least 6-7 owners before. It was tired. But I knew the time I test drove it, this was the car I wanted. In 2 days, the car was mine. It’s said that What is for you will find its way. So true. I didn’t have a penny to buy it, but all the money showed up from the blue. (Of course my credit card is blue in color.)

I always wanted a Golf and this was in the best condition as compared to the other Golf’s that I checked out. The good Lord has been generous to me in blessing me the automotive way. Though he has screwed up umpteen times in other fields of life, he has compensated a bit here πŸ˜€

I am really not a technical expert and in my group of automobile enthusiasts I am the leastΒ informed guy in terms of cars and their working. ButΒ allow me toΒ share the little details I know of my rare car with you guys.

Engine size : 2.3 L or 2300 cc

Cylinder Arrangement : V5

Maximum power : 168 hp

Maximum torque : 220 N-m

Max speed (Tested and verified) : 210 kmph (by one of my colleague who has the same car, same color and same configuration).

Its a real wolf in sheep’s clothing. I would be relaxed and driving slow and then there would be someone challenging me and in a couple of mins the car would be doing 180 kmph. I like that. I like a car which fakes that ordinary look having beastly power. The Audi RS series is a perfect example. You challenge it, you are sure to eat its dust.

This car has a rareΒ engineΒ configuration (V5 Engine). You won’t find another V5 engine car apart from Volkswagen Passat, Jetta and a Seat all made in late 90s and early 2000s, and none of the car looks as good as mine.

To compare the power of my car to an Indian car, hmm… Imagine a Suzuki Alto 800 having 48 hp, and now imagine my 10 year old car having 4 times the power of that πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Fair enough, I would be a fool to compare an Alto and GTI but just to give you guys a picture of how powerful the GTI is…

The car excels in every aspect. Performance, handling, visual appearance and what not. I love this car. It’s been my reason to live in the recent days. I am yet to drive a car that beats this car in stability and overall driveability. I look forward to drive it every single moment. It’s German and it’s addictive. Any German car owner would testify to that. Gladly VW is the most reliable German car manufacturers. Even the VW siblings like Audi, Skoda etc are prone to failures more often and very expensive like a kilogram of onion.

Every good thing that you fall for in life, will be expensive.Β People who buy German second hand, keep aside a chunk of their car budget. Trust me every little spare of a German car is expensive. May it be a little tie rod for steering, a cable for the clutch or whatever, just get ready to be raped. Every time I had to take it to a garage, I have cried my eyes out till I slept out of fatigue and again started crying in the morning.

The car repays me in terms of drive so can’t really complain much.

Now for the most interesting part of it all…The pictures of my car πŸ™‚

 

 

DSC_0157

 

DSC_0152

VW GOLF GTI MK4 .... The legend :)
VW GOLF GTI MK4 …. The legend πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028

 

DSC_0046 (2)

 

DSC_0145

 

DSC_0042 (2)

 VW GOLF GTI MK4 ...
VW GOLF GTI MK4 …

That’s every ounce of my photography skill utilized for him there…

Trust me, if I had the money I would keep this car forever. It’s a car for a lifetime. Β Wish I could ship it to India and keep it in my car shed not to show off, but just to have it there. I have loved nothing like I have loved this guy. It sure deserves it. (shup up you bloody emotional brat)

I have written about this car in every automotive forum that I am a part of πŸ˜€ This car has already completed 40 yrs of Β manufacturing in 7 generations and still going strong. It’s a champion in the international market and the GTI is termed as a ‘Hot Hatch’ for its mouth watering performance figures and for its handsome appearance.

Before I end let me share a quote with you all,

If you don’t look back after parking your car, you probably didn’t buy the right one

written by some genius. Well, I look back all the time, so I am on the right track. πŸ™‚

THE END

PS :

1. As you have already read this, let me remind you that this is not meant to informative. This is just my obsession coming out in the form of words.

2. I have mentioned about driving fast in the article, that was just a couple of times when I got the car new. Please don’t do it. Though your life’s worth is debatable, the other road users life surely is. I don’t drive more than the road limits whatsoever and the place where I live has better roads, traffic control and stuff. Hence please don’t. Read the quote towards the beginning of the post.

 

49 thoughts on “My GTI Mk4 :) #gti”

    1. Hello Purrfect gal πŸ™‚

      Glad you liked my car. Thank you for your appreciation for my photographic skills, though I am a novice

      Cars and Bikes are always special. I am sure that you will ditch nutella and pizza for this car πŸ˜€

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Have a great day πŸ™‚

  1. That looks like a sweet ride! Not much of a car enthusiast but always lovely to hear from someone who is! Really liked the quote you ended the post with, know quite a few people who’d relate to that πŸ™‚

    1. Hey Princess,

      Thank you for your sweet comment πŸ™‚

      Glad you could relate my quote to some people in your life. Hope to see you here again πŸ™‚

      Cheers

  2. The way you described , it seems like a perfect car. Though I didn’t understand some technical stuff but, it sure is what to look for in a car. And the photos and quotes really make me want to drive it (though I don’t know how to drive :P).

    1. Hello Abhilasha,

      Always a pleasure to see you here πŸ™‚ If there is any technical things I could help you with, I would be glad to …

      It’s actually a poor mans joy. There are better cars surely but for this money no πŸ˜€ It has great stability and road presence. You will appreciate it when you drive. Btw Why don’t you drive or learn to drive πŸ™‚ It can be a great thing for a poet like you..Take your car and sneak away to lonely places.

      1. Yes, I will bug you when I need help πŸ˜› The picture you took make the car seem no less than a BMW or Audi. The car must definitely be great. I am still not 18 😦 and my parents won’t make me learn driving until then. But when I do learn, I am going to do just that (sneaking away on long drives :P) πŸ˜€

    2. Its a great decision by your parents. Mind you I started driving at 13 and my parents never accepted that. I used to sneak away with bikes and the number of times I have seen death very close is uncountable. Grow up soon is the only thing I will wish you ..hehe..

      Thanks for the sweet comment on my car πŸ™‚ Cheers from me and my golfey.

  3. Wow ! She looks awesome …and the post truly reveals your passion and love for her…. πŸ™‚
    ..I so very much agree with this point… ” If you don’t look back after parking your car, you probably didn’t buy the right one ” !

  4. Hey hey party time huh?????………. Happy for you Anoop!!!!!!.. Sounds like once again you are loving taming another hidden beast beneath the pageant outlooks!!!………. Happy riding your second wolf!(first your uncle’s royal enfield πŸ˜‰ )

    1. Hahaha…Sure, Chocolates for you πŸ™‚

      Thank you Ashmiiiii for your sweet comment πŸ˜€ Glad to see your comment. I will let my car know about you and your comment πŸ˜‰

      Cheers:)

      1. Chocolates???….You will make my day if u get me that treat ;)…….just you will convey my comment???… when is the celebration drive for Ashmiiii??? πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

  5. My God man, such a lovely write up. I’m sorry I didn’t read this earlier.

    As a fellow car enthusiast, I can really relate to your feelings about your car.

    For me, a car is not about the horsepower or the number of seconds i takes to get from 0-100.

    I love my car because it makes me happy.

    Wherever I go with him, through whatever hell the roads of Kerala can throw at us, he keeps on showing his puppy like enthusiasm which never fails to make me grin.

    Keep on munching the miles, and do drive safe! =D

    1. πŸ˜€ Hey little brother,

      You are anyday a better and more informed car enthusiast than me.

      Trust me, a car with better power and 0-100 figures would make you even more happy. πŸ˜€ Also its a gti man. Come on, it is a legend and its a reliable German. I can really relate to your feelings but German cars just set the standard really high. I hope you own a good German one day to understand what I (and the laura man – Sreekumar) say is true. πŸ™‚

      Wishing you also many more happy and safe miles ahead.

      Here is a link of a song for you…written by you but not written by you πŸ˜€

      http://rock.rapgenius.com/Karen-o-the-moon-song-lyrics#note-2675401

  6. Wow…I absolutely adore this post!

    You have a new follower and a new admirer, and a car admirer too. πŸ˜€

    “If you don’t look back after parking your car, you probably didn’t buy the right one”.

    Oh, how well said! I look.Always. πŸ˜€

    Tina.

    1. Hello Tina πŸ™‚

      Sorry for the delay in replying your comment, I was away.

      Really happy that you liked my post. What makes me more happy is that you are an car crazy person πŸ˜€ …. Really glad to meet you.

      What car do you drive? I am also following you. Please stay in touch πŸ™‚

      Cheers

      1. Hi!

        Thanks for your comment!

        Car crazy? Oh yes, indeed!

        I have to comment your V5 motor. You’re right that only Golf looks good in the class of the cars with it.

        I mean, you really cannot say that Seat Toledo or Bora (Jetta), look better πŸ˜€

        I drive, currently, Seat Linea R, a limited version that Seat made. I bough mine in 2000.

        Engine is 1.8 TSI 160 hp ( 118 kW), and I like mine 18 inch “Supercopa” wheels which really makes him look wonderful.
        The exterior and the interior , for me at least, are wonderfully made.
        Aluminum pedals, and I replaced seats with original Recaro seats, for a better feeling πŸ˜€

        I also added a black carbon roof and black windows in the back, since the car is Candy White, so now il looks even better.

        The feeling on the road is excellent. πŸ˜€

        Of course, Cupra is far better,I drove it and I was amazed, but I can tell you that the feeling in the Linea R is not so far behind, especially in the way of holding on the road, and the way it behaves in high speed in the turnings on the road (90 degrees for example).

        Oh…I could write all day long…I must stop πŸ˜€

        Here’s the picture,not mine car, but its pretty much the same.

        https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSuOFzlBwMaUGEBFmWWvVjgvSYq4AsrVvEYYZw01ekn-QApI3EC_g

        Please,ask me some more, if you wish… πŸ˜€

        Tina.

      2. Hey Tina πŸ™‚

        Glad to see a car enthusiast. Women who love cars and bikes are a great turn on for me:D I love bikes too….Do you? I dream of an R1 or a busa someday.

        Of course, Golf is the coolest looking V5 out of the lot. No debate on that πŸ˜€

        I have heard of Seat Linea R, but never gone into the detail. I was more aware of Seat Leon. Looking at the Engine and spec it looks like it’s a mini Golf. Even Golf has a 1.8L Tsi engine I believe. Is it twincharged (turbo and supercharged) or just turbocharged? Aluminium pedals must be really cool. I miss that in my car:( Recaro seats (y) (y)

        Black roof goes well with Candy white and red also πŸ™‚ That’s a cool thing you did, so is 18″ supercopa alloys πŸ˜€ Mine still sports a stock 16″ and the stock alloys are mouth water, I never want to change that.

        Oh, Come on ..its a VW baby. It should do well in handling department. I have done a bend in 100-110 kmph, that too in heavy rains πŸ˜› and still no problems in handling or stability. I am sure your car would have the same stability and handling.

        You have a turbocharged engine, while I have a naturally aspirated one πŸ˜€ That should be a great difference. The linear power delivery is mind blowing. Do you drive a Manual Transmission? Mine is a Manual one. I love the Manual any day over the automatic. πŸ™‚

        Your car looks stunning. Love it. Mind if I test drive it? πŸ˜€

        Also if there is anything more you think you want to ask me, and you don’t want to use this forum feel free to mail me. My mail id is in my profile. I would love to hear from you. Also I would love to have a couple of pics of the car interiors and seats, if you don’t mind.

        Take care. Cheers.

    2. Hello Tina,

      You look like the perfect partner for crime πŸ˜€

      R15 is the 150cc bike right and if I am not wrong it produces 17 PS. I don’t know which place in this globe you live in, but is that enough?..NAAAA…

      R1 anyday, but as you said, it’s too expensive, so is hayabusa and Bandit 😦

      Would someday drive your Linea R for sure πŸ˜€

      Cheers

      1. LOL!

        Of course! You gotta get the feeling of the road beneath the wheels…whoa! πŸ˜€

        Btw, I’m from Europe,Croatia. Google it! LOL!

        I know that you don’t have a slightest idea where that is. πŸ˜€

        Yours truly, and a partner in crime, Tina. πŸ˜€

      2. Come on…I know Croatia…Grrrr…..

        They play Brasil all the time in group stages and I googled it many years back. LOL πŸ˜€

        You are wrong Tina, I’m so advanced. πŸ˜›

        Cheers gal, and I’m really happy to have a partner in crime πŸ˜€

      3. I knew your country long back, trust me πŸ˜€ Croatia is famous like apples and oranges and sun … πŸ˜›

        Someday I hope to visit Europe in general πŸ™‚

  7. Hi….
    ..just to give you a few more data. πŸ˜€

    I drive the manual transmission,of course,automatic is NOT a possibility for me, there’s no that feeling you have while driving manually. πŸ˜€

    The engine is of course,twin charged and basically, yes it is an engine from VW Golf. πŸ˜€

    Linear power deliver? Oh my,you should try it. πŸ˜€ Kick ass! πŸ˜€

    R1?LOL, no problem! πŸ˜€ Anytime,if I had the money to afford it!

    I was looking for an R15, my friend was selling it, but the price was still too high.

    Also,I wouldn’t mind Suzuki Bandit SA 1250, or Hayabusa. πŸ™‚

    Preferably in pink color! LOL, just kiddin’. πŸ˜€

    1. Wow! Missed this epic conversation!

      More petrolheads, Yaay!

      Both of you have awesome cars, no denying that. πŸ˜€

      And Tina, great to see another person who enjoys a good ol’ manual tranny. That said, the DSGs VW are dishing out these days are pretty fantastic too πŸ˜›

      And that TSI is a real beauty of an engine. I have driven a second gen Octavia with that monster under the hood, and boy was it fast!

      But Anoop knows this, I’m a sucker for NA engines. No matter how good the forced induction monsters are gonna get, there’s the adrenaline high you get when you revv the nuts off a good NA engine.

      Just watching the needle bounce off the revv limiter makes me squeal like a little girl! πŸ˜›

      1. Yo bwooy, I know your love for Naturally aspirated engines, but I seriously wish I drive one someday. πŸ™‚

        DSG is unreliable mate, while the manual gearbox of Germans are bomb-proof, so are the Engines.

        Tina is in a different part of the world and probably has access to all good bikes and cars, hope she is enjoying herselves.

    2. R15 is the 150cc bike right? Why would you want to buy that?

      Pink Hayabusa it is for you.

      So I am packing my bags for croatia, Let’s drive your car…ooohhooo..

Leave a Reply

