Analysis and Sarcasms (WC 2014)

(This is a post from a follower’s point of view and these are my opinions. Its subjective, People with disagreement can comment and I will be happy to read, understand and reply to it ๐Ÿ™‚ )

 

 

images

 

 

Why?

  • I was thinking what the urgent press for having such a post was? Well, I was drivingย 15 kms to and 15 kms fro to watch the World Cup and through wee hours and pitch darkness and through the traffic congestion which I would on any cost otherwise avoid. I have taken pains to watch this world cup. I have done that before for football and I will do it any day.
  • I have sat in my office meeting with eyes about to close due to the fatigue and sleeplessness. Sitting next to the manager with drowsy eyes and attending an important meeting can put an end to my job.
  • I have received more than 500 messages on the day Brasil lost, just funny memeโ€™s and jokes; slaughter it was from all the side. (which is quite a fun as I do the same and I take it in a creative way)

What?

  • I am going to write what I felt about the overall Brasilian team in the current year WC. Having seen Brasil play more than 12-14 years, to see them lose this bad was a bit hard for me. I am not a follower of Brasilian team because mmmโ€ฆ.letโ€™s say I like Schumacher cos he wins always. Naa..none of that. I have grown up watching Brasil play and I have always supported them right from my childhood. So I was, am and will continue to be a Brasil fan.

My view point

  • The first game against Croatia screamed about the quality of Brasilian team. Trust me, I sadly knew it then they are not winning the World cup.
  • Scolari is an amazing coach. Who else could take a bunch of new kids and push them up till Semi-finals. I have no doubt about that, but come on; you canโ€™t underestimate the other teams and put up an inexperienced team like this for them to score easy winners.
  • The year 2002 took Brasilian team to victory, under Scolariโ€™s management. Ronaldo, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho, Kaka, Roberto Carlos, Cafu etc were more than enough. Anyone could just stand there and tell them to play their game and still they would have won the WC hands down.

Now my certain observations regarding Brasilian national team hoping that this would help them do well in the future, as a person who admires them I always want them to get better and play creative football like before.

  • As a coach, Luiz Felipe Scolari has lost. This defeat is not of the team or the players; it rightly belongs to the coach. No doubt he is one of the best, but this time you didn’t do your research, Sir. You picked inexperience instead of seasoned players and boasted in the media that inexperience doesn’t matter. A thing proved wrong by time. Nothing beats talent and experience.
  • As from my early days I have heard that midfield is the deciding factor mostly for any team. Did Brasil have a commanding midfield play? No.
  • Having some ammunition’s in the pocket and still not firing them is bad and really sad. I donโ€™t say include the experienced in the main team, but at least the squad? Pato, Ronaldinho, Robinho, Kaka, Coutinhoโ€ฆโ€ฆnone of them, you are joking right. May be they could have won or maybe not, but the game would have been a pleasure to watch with some beautiful dribbling, skills and the margin of defeat would have reduced considerably for sure.
  • Neymar is definitely good, but he succumbs to pressure and I wouldnโ€™t blame him. At this young age, playing for national team in the world cup is a different thing altogether. So how do you expect Neymar to win the world cup alone? He is an over-rated player, as far as I see. He is definitely good, but he is over-rated like inflation in India.
  • Brasil has never been a defensive team. They always play attacking football. They split open the opposition defense with through balls and individual runs, dribbles and skills. That is what I term typical Latin American creative football. Brasilian teamย leaves a couple of strong defenders behind; the other 8 players are in the opposition half most of the time. This time what went wrong is their inability to attack and split German defense due to lack of quality players. All they did was dive.

My humble suggestions would be

  • Please don’t underestimate the other teams, all the teams that played against Brasil gave them tuff time.
  • Mix new players with the seasoned talented players. Let them learn from the experienced one’s.
  • Keep aside ego, politics and differences, pick the best team. Keep a good back up always, you never know howย much sooner or later you might need it.
  • A thing that hurt me the most was Ronaldinho being avoided from the squad. He is a legend. None of the players in Brasilian squad matched him or his unbeaten talent. I hope he is there for the next world cup squad if he hasn’t retired,at least. What a mistake and a shame!
  • Last but not the least, never have a team with one star player and people going crazy behind him. If he fails the team fails.

All in all, it was a game which Germans deserved to win and by this margin or more due to lack of quality that Brasilian players exhibited. I hope rather than getting demotivated, they come up strong and play better football and shame the critics. Let the people say what they have to but my favorite team is undoubtedly the worldโ€™s best and the most creative side ever.

All the best guys for the next match, third place awaits you ๐Ÿ™‚ Vamos laโ€™ Brasilโ€ฆ

 

PS : Couple of words to the people of my country who has never seen a football pitch and who sit back and make all this bullshit, itโ€™s really tuff to go out there and play 90 mins. You guys seriously seem to have a serious problem. It takes special talent to even control that puny ball, run around for 90 minutes and play football. I have written this post cos I used to beย a footballer myself in the past and I have cracked under pressure playing for a club match at 16, and every competition I played. I know what being total blank in the field is and how it feels! There is nothing shameful than sitting back and taking a dig at somebody without knowing what it actually means to be out there. Even the Sharapova incidentโ€ฆ Lol on our country men. You donโ€™t know a heck about sports. You guys say Brasil got raped by Germans, I say Germans displayed talent to win the match. How can winning the match be raping? Rape is for the weak, lets save that for our countrymen, please. I donโ€™t buy any of your comments, save it for the weak who would want to stop following Brasil after that match. I would cheer for Brasil till my country, India shows up in the world cup. Until then itโ€™s you Brasil, you have my heart and my wishes ย ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

28 thoughts on “Analysis and Sarcasms (WC 2014)”

  1. Hey your following of this wonderful game is commendable! I don’t follow it, don’t watch the matches because well, I have a toddler who wakes up in the night and I have work to do in the morning before I begin my office duties!

    But Brazil cannot lose like it did this time! I still don’t believe it. I am shocked and lets say, disappointed. No more words, you have put it aptly.
    http://www.firstpost.com/sports/brazils-7-1-tragedy-they-didnt-just-lose-a-match-they-lost-part-of-their-legacy-1609837.html
    Here you go! I actually stand by what the reporter says. Its true.

    1. Hello there ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for sharing your view… and yes the reporter is absolutely right. Everyone’s in pretty much shock, but hope they get inspired from this…

      Cheers

    2. This marks the end of WC….Sleepless nights over. Germans deserved to win, they were very organised throughout.

      You too a German fan ??? ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. This year, I was.. Since the beginning! But I can swear by the names of Ronaldo and Ronaldinho and Kaka that till the time they played, I was yellow and green always!! *respect*

      2. That was really funny…These guys make awesome video’s …Hehehe

        If it was me I would have run away with out answering ๐Ÿ˜€

        Not knowing something is not a crime, the video proves that…. But we will never accept that ๐Ÿ˜›

        Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you remembered me and our little conversation. Feel free to post something relevant if you find any, in the future.

        Peace ๐Ÿ™‚

      3. Lol you’d run away is it?!! Now should I post niceties on your page for this?? lol just kidding!

        I agree, not knowing is not a crime. But then, that rule should apply to everyone right?

      4. Hahaha…Come on, you instill guilt in me ๐Ÿ˜›

        The rule should apply to everyone and this is where we are special. We are special kinds of hypocrites, for example a father would smoke and expect his son to be a non-smoker, that’s how things work in India.

      5. I agree. Selective application of principles!!

        But sometimes, they are good. Like I am going to tell my son I was veryyyyyy sincere in studies. And I’ll ensure my mom doesn’t laugh at the joke! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

        Having a kid is fun! lol

  2. I respect your views and opinions but at the end of the day it all comes down to those 90 mins, wherein both the team players experience all the difficulties that you mentioned. Its only who can manage it better than stand to win the game. No doubt being the host country, there was more pressure on Brazil’s performance but no matter how bad I feel for them, the Germans took their opportunity and finished them completely. Also star players are not the deciding factor of this game. In fact I think the opposite. A good midfielder with cut through passes to a star forward and a good defender should do. You don’t need to have 7-8 star club players to give a strong fight. This world cup saw many downs at the beginning itself but of course this one took the crown. This is professional football and these players who earn a bomb through their skills will obviously be on the receiving end of criticism if they don’t perform well and Brazil didn’t perform well against German. So they deserve to take a serious look into that match and correct everything that went wrong. The defense was a disgrace and I say this even though I love david luiz. Anyways if you love the country so much then you have to take the criticism as well.

    Here’s to no such future disasters for Brazil. Cheers!!

    1. Hey Humorous gal ๐Ÿ™‚ What took you so long to comment to this post…I wondered ๐Ÿ˜›

      I feel bad when I criticize these players, cos I simply don’t have the right to do it. The reason to go such a post is because the legacy has been destroyed. I have seen Brazil lose matches many a times, but this can’t be called losing.

      The Germans played systematically, and trust me they play systematically every time for the past 12 yrs that I have watched them play (ofcos only wc included). Hope you had a look at the young German squad too. They are really good.

      A player is termed a star, only because he does something better than the others playing in that position. Finishing, providing ball, defending ….vagera vagera…I hope you have seen the third place game and I regret to say there was no one who could take a good shot on the post. Oscar was alright. I won’t even go there.

      If one side of your team is weak, the opposition will penetrate through that weak side ๐Ÿ˜‰ That’s the rule of football. No one needs to be a star, but they can’t be weak.. Also having rated players boost the morale which is evident from Messi and Neymar…. Neymar is over-rated pardon me…

      I have taken, am taking and will take all the criticism. That’s never a problem. I criticize other teams too a lot and it doesn’t affect me personally at all. What really upset me was why Scolari didn’t play some good players Lucas Moura, Coutinho, Kaka, Ronaldinho…!!! Grrrrr…Again what had to happen already did ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Wish Germans luck and hope Messi wins it for he is one of the best out there ๐Ÿ˜€

      Cheers

  3. I’m a die-hard Germany fan since the day I’m watching football. This WC has made one thing clear , as you’ve said ,it’s no more wise to underestimate the so called ‘small’ countries in the realm of football. Moreover , all the players diligently take part in the club football all round the year and are quite aware as far as the pros and cons of a particular player is concerned.

    Coming to Brazil , my two cent is Scolari tried to break the norms of Latin American football ‘art’ but failed ….exclusion of veteran players and too much dependency on Neymar might be the other reasons for such a devastation .

    I liked your analysis as a whole… ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hello Maniparna ๐Ÿ™‚ Hows u ?

      Thank you for reading and commenting ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to see you here.

      The thing that differentiates Germans from the rest of the teams are : its fluidity while attacking, perfect long balls, systematic positioning of players and the. Trust me I will never be a German fan, but I can’t stop saying that it a pleasure to watch them play.

      I loved watching Mexico and Chile play. Especially Mexico was amazing, playing some Latin american attacking football in the beginning with the Dutch. Anyways I think you will see the finals tonight,

      Happy watching ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. I am not amazed you would follow football…You are from Kolkata ๐Ÿ˜‰ one of the places where football is widely played and followed.

        The ladies in here are German fans and men are Arg fans… Sure is a clash of titans ๐Ÿ™‚

        Happy match watching ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. anoope is maniparna a football player?wow she knows a thing or two about football right?germans are hard to beat i know that but if argentina executes their tatics wisely a slight chance i don’t know man who is gonna cry and who is gonna laugh.

  5. One can’t say argentina played badly inthe final compared to what germany did with brazil. They had their moments but in the end i have to say germany deserved it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ya…A last minute stunner by him changed everything. Germans were organised and they deserved it, though I didn’t like their victory *Sigh*

      Now the wait for 4 years begin ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Whilst I don’t know much about the game but I have watched the WC from the 90s and I so agree with your analysis…over rated players tend to drag down the team in the end because they invariably crumble under the pressure created by the hype …I was upset when Columbia lost …I liked James ๐Ÿ˜„…

    1. Hello there,

      Women watching football comes under rare species, and moreover endangered one ๐Ÿ˜› I hope you protect yourself and stay safe…. hehe ๐Ÿ˜›

      What you said about over-rated players is very true ๐Ÿ™‚ Agree very much to that.

      I’m sure James Rodriguez must be have quite a lot of female fans ๐Ÿ˜€

      Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

