Revving my GTI – past 3, 4, 5 & 6 k… all the way!!!

So yes, today is yet another non-phenomenal day in my life. But it truly depends on us, to how or what we make of a day. More appropriate would be: it depends on our heart/mind. How enthusiastic you mind is today. May be it was because I was off from work from two days due to health reasons.

Let me move on and tell you what exactly happened. I come to work and get to know that there is a ‘kick off’ meeting for something. The duration is like 3.5 – 4 hrs and it was not relevant to me, but yet I was supposed to attend it for 45 mins. Just like the usual FYI mails you might get cc-ed into so that you know, just in case. So just as I am about to leave (the meetings happening just a km away) I think for a change how about I video my car speedometer/tachometer for a change, and there it is. I do first ever video of driving the gti πŸ™‚

Let me talk a bit more about the ‘kick my balls off’ meeting. I walk in there, I know a bunch of people, I know most of them. I talk to them for a while before the meeting and then enter into the meeting, and stare at every one for 2 hrs straight. The meeting was pretty relevant and there were lot of points discussed. I did listen to it all, butΒ when the discussion goes to minutest level I was not much involved. Reason : it doesn’t belong to my area.

After listening and making my notes,

IMAG0120
I don’t know how to rotate this

I run back to my car…

We are missing the point, so once the meeting was done here I go with my VW Golf GTI 2.3L V5 MT (that’s the full name of my car) for a quick video shoot.

I must say I am really impressed with this car. A 11 year old 153k kms run car which has been handled by 6-7 people in the past, but never has it failed to make me fall in love with it. I had reliable options when I was considering buying a car, for instance a bit more money and I would have had a Honda Civic. But NAAAA…

Though I cry a lot a when I take it garage for servicing/parts replacement, I will be all tears begging the Service Advisor to show some mercy. But those tears stop flowing the moment I am on the road. It’s very expensive to maintain this car mainly because it’s 11 years old, the parts demand replacement due to wear and tear, and VW parts are expensive. The beauty of this thing is you replace the part or not, this car can still do a 220, no matter what unless the broken part is it’s tires. The number of times I was turned into an amazed man covering his mouth with both his hands while driving is much more than 2 or 3.

I am very selective about buying my stuff, I had to wait 3 months for this car and boy, I think this car deserved the wait. This was one of my best purchases till date. A car that has made me fall in love with it head on heels, day after day… day after day. Not one single day was I bored driving this car, not one as I can recollect of. Something that has kept me going on at this place. It’s because of this brat that I still stay here or else I would have left this place long ago. The gti truly is a hot hatch, something very addictive and lovable.

I hope you guys enjoy the video… like I did πŸ˜€

 

I might probably do a better video when I have some charge in my god damn smart dumb phone.

Keep revving πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

 

Edit :

While I was going to copy paste the link from YouTube, I had Edward Maya running already in the next tab. I didn’t search for my video from that, instead I opened a new tab and typed once again. Just saying that Edward Maya is an amazing artist.

22 thoughts on “Revving my GTI – past 3, 4, 5 & 6 k… all the way!!!”

    1. Haha.. Really. I think my eyes never went on the road. Lucky to be alive πŸ™‚

      You will also touch 120, for 120 is the speed limit at our place πŸ˜€ So when you come, you will have your share..

      The maximum speed done in UAE is around 270 kmph, as quoted by one of the newspaper. It’s a bad thing and of course he must have had his license banned for 3 months πŸ˜›

      1. Yea, when I tried to click at 30, I was on the other side of the road and a truck was coming towards me with honking its horns πŸ˜‰

        Ban for 3 months?! Then AutoBahn!!!
        Even they do a 150 I guess!

      2. At some/most of German Autobahns 130 is the max speed limit, with some parts not included in it. Perfect place to test the top speed.

      3. True… but I could never test the top speed of my car. I am yet to find a road which would allow me to do that. Void of cams, the fines are just too much for me to take… πŸ™‚

        I hope you enjoyed the video πŸ™‚

      4. There is a race track in Dubai Autodrome, in which you can drive by paying some ~16000 Inr for 20mins. You get a camaro SS, Audi TT etc. But Audi R8 will be as costly as ~32000 for 20 mins.

        I don’t think they allow us on Grand prix tracks unless you are a member of some racing club. I am not sure but this is my best guess. πŸ™‚

    1. Engine noise works wonders, there is nothing that gets me more excited.

      R8 has a beautiful exhaust note. There is a video in YouTube in which they rev the nuts out of the engine in a tunnel. Amazing machine !

      Thanks for passing by mate πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

