Jebel Al Jais _ The mountains revisited – 2

Read the first part here


 

As I was looking around I saw another road which led to a tower like structure. On asking the guard he said there is a road to this place. I move on to explore like a Ford Explorer, but not much joy with that. They had locked the way to go uphill. So I am going to do what I do the best (Hitman: Agent 47)

 

Warships… lot of them. Feels like watching Greece attack Troy.

 

tn_DSC_0130

 

Then I see another spot, which sparked interest. Half of it was under shadow. Thanks to the mountains.

 

tn_DSC_0132

Back to warships…

tn_DSC_0133

 

Then in a while, our friend from old gang comes to visit. Sorry for the shake, I wasn’t prepared for him.

tn_DSC_0135

 

Many people came in with their utensils to cook food. I don’t understand the obsession, maybe it’s fun.

 

tn_DSC_0140

 

Again the roads….

tn_DSC_0141

 

 

Here we are nearing the end. So should I post the ending now and later post the Golf section? Yeah, that will work I guess.

So on the descend I took some more pics of mountains, good roads, places nearby and stuff like that.

 

tn_DSC_0145

 

 

And then the B&W I saved from before…

tn_DSC_0131

 

And then the beautiful scenic place downhill.

tn_DSC_0161

 

tn_DSC_0163

 

tn_DSC_0166

 

tn_DSC_0165

tn_DSC_0164

 

tn_DSC_0169

 

Isn’t the place very beautiful?

Now some Golfey time, anyone who wishes to skip this can do so. This is madness and obsession.

Golfey time

A fun fact : I took all the winding roads in 5th gear with occasional shifting to 4th gear to deal with hairpin bends. Apart from that 5th gear and moving steadily, not a slightest of feel that you are out of power. Amazing torque. This car never ceases to amaze me. Anything that doesn’t fail to astonish you may it be a car or a person, you will want to hold on to it forever. I am in the same situation. Everyday is different with this car. Amazing Engineering!!!

That’s why people are ready to pay hefty amounts for German cars even though their reliability and customer service is arguably the worst. The German cars are well Engineered. Especially my car belongs to an era when there were only limited essential electronics and the rest was to be taken care by the driver. It’s a drivers car… No doubt!!!

tn_DSC_0147

 

tn_DSC_0146

 

tn_DSC_0136

 

tn_DSC_0170

tn_DSC_0149

 

tn_DSC_0148

 

tn_DSC_0160

 

 

 

tn_DSC_0153

 

Now this I wanted to try and make my wallpaper… Focus on the ground, for a change 😛 

tn_DSC_0151

 

 

So highlights of this trip,

Start from home : 04:45 AM
Reach Jebel Al Jais 06:30 AM
Start the car for return leg 09:00 AM
Reach home 11:45 AM

Total kms : 250 kms approx

Total fuel : 20-25 liters approx

REVIEW :

5 10

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pros :

A silent getaway, amazing winding roads, availability of public washrooms and barbecue places, Cost effective, Scenic, Challenging roads, Close to the city limits, Good to take along friends, family, parents or loved ones, Quiet place.

Cons :

Bad stretches of road; not matching UAE standards, Frequent cyclists, Lot of blind spot, Narrow roads at some places, People may find the troubles taken unworthy for what awaits is just a view, Camping area/off road is accessible only with permission, Unavailability of Petrol pumps, shops after leaving the city limits.

Best time to visit :

October to December and March to May.

Things to be careful about:

Narrow roads, blind spots and harsh potholes. Food, water and fuel should be taken care of before you leave city limits.

My opinion :

Definitely worth a shot for all the beautiful roads till the place and if you love silence and tranquility, think no more. A good place for weekend retreat provided you are not travelling in the rush hour. Auto-enthusiasts can enjoy the winding roads. Recommended. 

Finally a parting shot…

tn_DSC_0144

 

Cheers!!!


 

18 thoughts on “Jebel Al Jais _ The mountains revisited – 2”

  1. The views were unbelievably amazing! 🙂 I would be scared to death to take those pictures If I were you since I’m scared of height 😛 You are not only a great photographer, but also a brave soul Anoop 😉

    1. lol. Nothing brave about it Khloe 🙂 There were so many brave hearts there 😀 I think you won’t be scared if you were to be accompanied by someone. 🙂

      Glad you liked my post. Cheers!

  2. I was so lost in pics that I have lost words !!!!!!!! Spectacular shots 🙂 The twisted road,the sea shot , the B&W shot and the last shot were my favorite 🙂
    Btw, its ady, (previously from roundworldnme) now reporting from my new site. 😀

      1. Meh, old site was compromised in real life and I started getting too much interference,so… new start 😀

Leave a Reply

