Revolution

This post is predominantly based on Indian Scenario; past and present


Like Industrial Revolution or Technological Revolution, I have seen something called Family Revolution. Let me explain this term that I just created now.

Family Revolution is nothing but the drastic change that most of the Indian families started to witness after early years of this millennium. I am glad to have witnessed those changes and I much appreciate them.

In my younger times before family revolution (or whatever you might call it), the nature/structure of a normal middle class family was quite different than today. You have the man, who happens to be the bread winner. Then there is the lady, his wife who would be a home-maker. The man would go out, do whatever it takes to win some much needed essentials like food for his family while his lady made sure of the order at home. In this equation, when we add up kids, the entire responsibility would go to the lady of the house. That was the reason why people of my generation were even more attached to their mother as they would rarely see their father helping them out with something or teaching them a new lesson. Mother was a part and parcel of every child’s life then. Hence rightly called #MyFirstExpert.

Now few years before, things started changing. Now maybe I am wrong but my best guess to the current scenario is as follows:

The living expenses started sky-rocketing. It became impossible to manage a house hold with a single income and by then most of the women had equal or greater educational qualifications than their counterpart men. So it became easy for women to get a job and thus they became more independent. In such an equation, kids became the responsibility of both the parents major being mother as usual. But still chores were divided and thus paved way for a new way of raising kids.

In the days when I used to be little, mothers were more than anything to a child. His best friend, his teacher, his guide and much more. As we grew up, things were still the same. They were there in every walk of our life. Most of them had their bride/groom selected by their mother’s. Such were the powers of a mother then.

I am glad that things have changed and made way for a more responsible scenario today. Today it is possible for the child to look upon his mother and take a lot of inspiration as she is nothing less than a Superwoman. She knows how the world works and can inspire her kid to have a successful life. Her expertise in different fields can be passed on to her kid. But then something never change. I am from an era when type-writers were common. My mother knew type-writing and I learnt it from her. It was a very smooth lesson and I don’t even think that I had a problem once while learning my lessons from her. She was a very patient teacher. Apart from that, every lesson or experience involving them is such a sweet memory.

I am very much glad that I found Godrej and IB presenting an opportunity and inspiring people on Mother’s day. I might have altogether skipped this post otherwise. Thanks to them!


Most importantly : Happy Mother’s day! (belated) to every one. 

31 thoughts on “Revolution”

  1. Belated Happy Mother’s day Anoop 🙂

    I have so much to add in this regard. Indian women and their changing roles. I have seen women being responsible for the 3 basic meals cooking with only elementary education. Now, you see young girls going abroad for higher studies, living independent lives, driving and a lot more. What most importantly played as an additional factor in this churning was how men promoted their wives, daughters, sisters etc. That’s where the true implementation of women empowerment strikes. Women are strong, no doubt but with the acceptance of such growing women by men is what helps us further. I feel very happy to see men like you approaching this revolution with broader horizons. I liked this post 🙂

    1. Yes. I have also seen the ever changing roles of women, much more than you have written here. 🙂

      In a society dominated by men, it is also impressive that how women have proved themselves worthy enough. Women are strong and they have a clinical finish to everything that they do.

      That needs to be appreciated.

  2. Love this post. A mother does play important role for her children, respect to your mother and all mothers who have done great things to future generations 🙂

  3. Family revolution, yes, I agree to this. Though my mother worked as a teacher for a short period, but later she gave up her career just to raise my sister and me. Mothers are always ready to sacrifice for their kids. They are our first teachers, they instill in us the values and tradition.

    A very sweet tribute here to all mothers, Anoop…. very nicely written… 🙂

    All the best… (y)…

    1. I can understand. I have known some women from our place who have raised 2 or 3 kids single handed and sponsored for their husband’s liquor as well 😉 How cool is that! lol

  4. It was interesting to know how Godrej inspired you to do this post and get to know more the resolution in India! 😉 I’m glad there were subtitles so that I could understand they were talking about in the advertisement 😛 I found this post very sweet and it is very well written ❤ Good job Anoop! 🙂

  5. Love this post. The family revolution is on point. 🙂
    Just a suggestion: Go to Settings>Sharing, and select the checkbox – Front Page, Archive Pages, and Search Results Now if someone visits your blog, he/she may like the post without opening the post separately. It will help you get more likes on the blog. 🙂

    1. Hello there,

      Thank you so much for the suggestion 🙂 I shall try it out. But likes are just numbers. The real intention is always to meet new people and of course some likes don’t hurt anyways 🙂

      Thanks once again.

      Cheers!

      1. You are right about that. But with this change, one will be able to read all your posts at one page too. They will not have to click through the titles. 😉
        And yes, the main purpose of starting my blog is to meet new minds, learn new things and explore more life, here. 🙂
        Cheers! 😀

      2. I have followed your suggestion 🙂 I better get more like 😛

        Can’t thank you enough for the pointers. Hope to see you around 🙂

  6. Very beautiful post amazing.A mother does play important role for her children, respect to your mother and all mothers who have done great things to future generations 🙂

Leave a Reply

