Tested and Verified!!!

Automotive post alert ๐Ÿ˜€


Who wouldn’t want to try it out? Especially an automotive enthusiast who would like to know the pinnacle on the speedometer after which the needle would stop rising… and call it the top speed. Finally after a year and a half of ownership, I managed to find the top speed of my GTI. I was afraid if the panels would fly off or if not, the car itself would fly off but I was put to shame by my car.

On a weekend, couple of my acquaintance from an automotive forum decided to drive along the desert ways. You know, the one’s that they feature in some of the automotive shows, even in Fast and Furious 7. The ones with amazing narrow tarmac and desert on both sides. Those speed thirsty monsters called it a weekend drive and somewhere in the back of my mind, I was sure that something bad awaits me. I couldn’t have been more right. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

So the agenda looks like this, (can’t give away too many info but I’ll share some good pics with you all)

  • Meet at point A at 6:30 am in the morning
  • Drive to Point B via route X (with stops in between to photograph and cool down the engine)ย 
  • Return home via route Y before the heat takes over

Plans were set, routes were decided by them and I had no clue of the roads. I haven’t done that route ever in my entire span of 2 years here. So we head off and they all had powerful rides which were newer, well maintained and more expensive than mine and they take off like jet and I try and catch up. This taking off and catching up lasts for the entire 6 hours that we drove, except from the stops that we took.

We took the deviation from the main roads and entered the desert roads. Then scenario changed. We started gunning our machines. The Sports tourer motorbike leading us at a 180 kmph, we three followed him. Flying through the corners and doing nothing less than 160 kmph at any point of time. I have never done something like this in my entire life. We are talking about normal road cars doing a 180 kmph on narrow empty stretches with proper winding roads. It’s easy to do a 180 kmph on a straight road, even a Honda City can manage that (maybe). But how a car behaves while taking the turns is what matters, and these cars (my car included) had no problems at all.

Finally we reach the place before the much awaited straight. A 8 km long straight, we had to let our cars cool down a bit before we could do the next set of challenge. So Photography session ๐Ÿ˜€

tn_DSC_0347
I really wish I could afford a sportsbike ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

 

tn_DSC_0349

 

tn_DSC_0348
Never woke up this early for office but then these trips come once in a while. So that can be excused.

 

tn_DSC_0351

tn_DSC_0357
Octavia VRS with a stage 1 remap :/

 

tn_DSC_0360

 

tn_DSC_0361

tn_DSC_0363

tn_DSC_0370

So after spending time letting our machines cool down, fixing GoPro and taking pictures finally we are ready to march ahead. The next major stop would be beforeย aย famous tunnel.

As we reach the straight, the Octi starts gunning it and then I start gunning it. I am at a 140….150….160….17x….180…190…200. Wow….202…205…207…209…. At this point, the pedal is welded on the floor and I am just waiting.

Vrooom, the Infiniti rang all the bells and whistles and overtook me at a 210 kmph. Would you believe it? 210 kmph and the Infiniti overtook me with such ease that I would never be able to put that in words. So I concentrate back on my speedometer. 210…212…215….214….. That’s it. 214 kmph @ 6200 rpm, that is the top speed of a GTI which is 11 years old. The speedo error is like 5 kmph so might have been somewhere approximately around 210 kmph, the actual top speed. We reach the end of the road and then slow down, to share our experience. The Infiniti guy is like it 4th gear and 240 kmph @ 7000 rpm and I didn’t bother to shift up. There is like 2 gears left, so the top speed of that car is above 300 kmph :O ๐Ÿ˜ฎ :O

From there we ย take a turn to another road which is one of the most amazing roads I have seen in UAE. The road is full of twists and turns,ย negotiating cornersย atย a 200. Imagine doing a 200 through those winding roads. It’s a new personal record.

In a bit, we reached the main roads again. The roads had no signs and I had no clue of what the speed limit was. They were gunning it, I was catching up and they were up ahead. I didn’t see them brake and I got flashed for the first time to a cam which I didn’t see. I became poorer byย $180 (Rs 10000) at that instant. Then I was pretty much cautious but I could never see them again until they stopped near a deviation.

Again gunning around the mountain roads, but they did give all the safety tips. I was amazed that they knew the road so well. Cams, speed breakers and every nook and corner.

Then later everyone slowed down to normal speedsย as this place arrived.

tn_DSC_0371

We saw these guys on their R1 and GSX 1000
We saw these guys on their R1 and GSX 1000 Rย 

 

At least we had a biker in the group ๐Ÿ˜€

tn_DSC_0386

tn_DSC_0387

My car was undergoing natural cooling therapy session at the back. lol

We drove to the point B. At point B, from a small cafeteria we had sandwich and discussed about the drive. After about half an hour or so we started the return leg and this time, like the last time I was chasing hard. I was at a 180 but they were above 200 or even more. I never saw them apart from the motorbike which I saw somewhere in between at the fuel station.

I am glad that I did the trip. This is a good memory, I am glad I will have stories to tell my younger generations to come, about the cars we drove and speeds we did on this day. The next generation would probably not see Engines this big in capacity due to regulations that will be put up. So that was indeed a pleasant memory to cherish for the rest of my life.

Or was it all a dream?ย 


 

38 thoughts on “Tested and Verified!!!”

  1. gr8 1 !! After reading your fabulous posts on automotive,its forcing me to start that topic also!!

      1. whenever i watch any car only 2 things that 1st comes in my mind-1.engine.2.suspensions..& its look comes at last..!

    1. Girls do love Sports bike. There are few young English women who are in the Ducati riders club here. They are amazing ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Sure ๐Ÿ™‚ Do inform him/her that the Ducati has come up with the bike I drove (Scrambler) for something north of 7.5 lacs, if it helps.

    1. Sure, Why not!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Those cars look great and drive very fast as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you so much Bikram. Have a great day

  2. This was really a speedy post ๐Ÿ˜€ And, obviously very well-written as I was almost feeling the speed while going through your words. Undoubtedly it’s an experience of a lifetime ๐Ÿ™‚

    Don’t cry ๐Ÿ˜› you’ll own your dream bike one day…. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€ OK if you say so miss *confused*

        BTW, write some short story. Haven’t read any of your works in a while. Mine is still in the drafts, left to rot.

      2. Aare yaar, I have also started following your footsteps. I have Myntra waala post … hehe but I love this short story. It’s a very different genre than I have written ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ll say it outright, I’m really jealous!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    During my time in the Middle east, I was too young to drive, and now I’m in KL, where we can only dream of such speeds!! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    I can imagine the fun you must have had, rocketing around those twisties. Brings me memories of our Athirapilly drive. ๐Ÿ˜›

    1. Athirapally drive was 80-100’s. We are talking about 180’s – 200’s ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ But Athirapally was different fun.

      Like Dom says, it’s family ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I touched 120 on the way back, and a certain Ritz wasn’t very far away either ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. It all sounds so interesting, thrilling and amazing …doubt I would survive those vrooms ….. 240 oh me…… my heartz beating faster thinking of it!! Well …..once in a while its fine to be up early and once in a while its fine to speed to the max to test your cardiac capacities…..!! Loved your writing style Anoop …a beautiful and interesting read all through…..I never sit behind wheels ….don’t have a license either….somehow I always feel I don’t have a road sense…I get totally disturbed and terrified! Love reading your adventures on road and descriptions of vehicles!

    1. Do visit ferrari world once. There are high speed rides, one of them is the world’s fastest. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t visited yet, but someday if you get a chance…

      Glad you liked the post btw ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

