Rat Race – Experimenting on Documentary Photography!

It is said that one of the highest and most regarded forms of photography happens to be Documentary Photography. It is nothing but telling or showing a event/fact/story with the help of a photograph/series of photographs. It is typically covered in professional photojournalism but then we amateur photographers try our luck doing it as well πŸ˜‰


 

tn_DSC_0393

 

tn_DSC_0391

 

tn_DSC_0407

 

tn_DSC_0396

 

And finally on a day off…

tn_DSC_0409

 


 

Comments/Criticisms would be appreciated. πŸ™‚

31 thoughts on “Rat Race – Experimenting on Documentary Photography!”

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words πŸ™‚ Life is a big learning curve.

      I also happened to stumble upon documentary photography very recently.

      Thank you once again!

  1. The first, second and fourth are my favourites. Stunning shots! From far away, the second one could even have a bit of an eerie feel to it. The slightly “haunted” atmosphere of an empty corridor. I think the empty prams add to that “scary” touch. You see the prams and wonder: “Why are they empty? Where is everyone? What happened?”

    …Or maybe I’m just looking at it from a crazy horror movie angle. πŸ˜› I’m glad the last shot is full of kids, anyway! πŸ™‚

    1. Hi Yusra,

      Welcome back. Hope you nailed your exams.

      Actually the idea was to add some loneliness in the photograph. The pram and other stuff went well in it πŸ™‚

      Hope to see you around in here πŸ™‚ Take care!

      1. Thank you Anoop! I hope I did too… I guess I will find out when the results come! Hahaha… But thank you so much for the kind wishes. And yes, you did a great job of adding loneliness to the photo. (I’m glad it’s not just my horror movie imagination then.) It really shows. Very atmospheric! 😊

  2. The 4th shot is my favourite. πŸ™‚

    There’s something very soothing about watching a highway, is there not? Or maybe its just me πŸ˜›

      1. Automobiles, yes.

        But I think that highways are the great rivers of our cities. So many different people, each headed their different ways, with different life stories, all together on the same stretch of road. πŸ™‚

        Ok, that was me going on and on. Again. πŸ˜›

  3. Amateur !! You got to be kidding πŸ˜› I learnt the term ‘documentary photography’ first time today…. Looking at your photos, it feels like a story on roll, I admit I couldn’t understand the entire story, but I did like the links I could grasp from them πŸ™‚

    1. It just shows from early morning till late night how much of running around that we do πŸ™‚

      On contrary on an off day, you can see kids playing in the same corridor. πŸ™‚

    1. Ahem Ahem,

      On the grand scale of things, I still am πŸ˜‰

      Btw, I am pretty glad to see you in here. Hope you are doing great. Have a great weekend!

  4. My favourite snaps are the 2nd and 5th ones, they completely justify this ‘rat race’. People work hard to get along with the pace but holidays are holidays.! But the best shot is the 4th one, a busy day coming to an end.
    Great ‘amateur’ photography, you don’t seem like it though;), heard about documentary photography for the first time.

    1. Thank you so much for the appreciation πŸ™‚ Glad you liked them. I also came across Documentary photography sometime back.

Leave a Reply

