Eating sand for breakfast – aka – Dune bashing!

The usual ‘malayalee’ husband (a married man from Kerala) who drives an SUV silently in the speed lane at slow speed is always looked down by us youngsters. Sometimes we flash the hell out at them and they do some speed or we end up overtaking them by actually undertaking (moving to the next slower lane and overtaking) them. But I will never under-estimate the power of a married mallu man, henceforth 😛

Last weekend I was invited by one of my friend to join him for a desert drive, if I was interested. I looked at my diary if I had something better to do other than sleeping till 10 in the morning and then sitting on my chair and sleeping for another 2 hours. Who am I kidding? Hell no. I didn’t.

So I woke up at 4:20 am to catch up with him and by 5:30 am I am in his SUV and we are of to make the desert feel ashamed of itself. The only intention was to make the dunes feel miserable for being there and not making way for some trees. Bashing it till it dies out of shame or the SUV dies without fuel.

Enough said, let pics do all the talking…

Mouth wide open... On a weekend at 6 am in the morning :O
Mouth wide open… On a weekend at 6 am in the morning :O

 

tn_DSC_0428

 

 

 

tn_DSC_0420

tn_DSC_0423

 

 

 

 

 

 

tn_DSC_0422

tn_DSC_0423

tn_DSC_0426

tn_DSC_0427
Someone’s going to get hurt really bad, I hope it’s the dunes 😛

 

tn_DSC_0432
We start and in a while…
Closer ...
Closer …
Poor mammoth is stuck in sticky sand...
Poor mammoth is stuck in sticky sand…
People get showel and dig the sand but all in vein. :(
People get shovel and dig the sand but all in vein. 😦
We were silent spectators to everything...
We were silent spectators to everything…

 

The revenge of the mammoth's
The revenge of the mammoth’s
Far 1 - Can you see something?
Far 1 – Can you see something?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Far 2- Can you see something?
Far 2- Can you see something?

 

Far 3- Can you still not see something?
Far 3- Can you still not see something?

 

 

 

 

 

 

On top of the hill...waiting for next adventure. Exactly dive down like Vin Diesel.
On top of the hill…waiting for the next adventure. Exactly dive down like Vin Diesel.

 

How do we do it?
How do we do it?
Even the SUV's start thinking... Can we reach there in one piece?
Even the SUV’s start thinking… Can we reach there in one piece?
Everyone's thinking.... :/
Everyone’s thinking…. :/

 

No... 3M protection won't help much at such insane heights... :P
No… 3M protection won’t help much at such insane heights… 😛

 

Then they see a man climbing up... much needed motivation :)
Then they see a man climbing up… much needed motivation 🙂

 

The small hamlet....some Arab's farm house.
The small hamlet….some Arab’s farm house.

 

tn_DSC_0460
There we go… 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

tn_DSC_0465
Then everyone goes 😀

tn_DSC_0466 tn_DSC_0462 tn_DSC_0463 tn_DSC_0464

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tired and stranded
Tired and stranded people
The heat... :/
The heat… :/

tn_DSC_0474

 

tn_DSC_0473
Tired and stranded cars!
tn_DSC_0480
Treacherous desert!

 

Now couple of better one’s from my view

A lone Pajero waiting for someone! Filled my eyes with salt water. :'(
A lone Pajero waiting for someone! Filled my eyes with salt water. 😥
Someone kidnap me!!!
Someone kidnap me!!!
The silent mallu husbands turning wild and going west!
The silent mallu husbands turning wild and going west!

 

So will anyone, anymore dare to look down upon these poor SUV owners who look normal on a working weekday? 


 

 

34 thoughts on “Eating sand for breakfast – aka – Dune bashing!”

  1. Thrilling pictures Anoop !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can feel the desert , the heat and the adventure 😀 Driving into vast nothingness is really something, I guess 😀

      1. Actually that’s not true 🙂 They knew all the places in that desert. Would you believe there were names for points in that desert 😛
        They had walkie talkie and they were all organised.

      2. Even sea has islands but desert, only sand dunes and that too shift ! Nice to know someone knew about it 😀

  2. Wow!!! This is some serious fun. Adrenaline pumping, speed and power through your blood. Dubai. One day. My Dad loved these when he made a quick trip a few years back.

    1. These people take some care cos it’s their car but if you are going on a desert trip and if some Arab chap is driving the car, you are in for the worst scare of your life.

      It is said that their car suspensions don’t last 15 days. That’s how bad they bash up those dunes 😛

      I hope you get a chance to enjoy the dunes, probably in winters. 🙂

    1. Me too. I would not do it but then mallu husbands need huge SUV’s to show off to their counterparts in KL. 😛 So they are better of reliving their stress doing this as well 😛

      Miss the desert? Was that a joke 😛 lol. Can we trade places pls 😀

      Btw, Why is your dp so dark? I had to turn on lights to see your name. 😛 😀

      1. Hahaha. Poor mallu husbands under so much pressure.
        I do miss the desert. And the mountains. And the beaches. Sighh.
        Trade places? For sure! 😉
        Lol, it is black, so of course it is dark 😛
        Black till I figure out what to change it to.

      2. Yeah. Thanks to their wives 😛

        Oh perfect. You can have it all here. So we trade places 😀

        Well ok, now I know that you are in the process of figuring out.

  3. As SRK said, “Don’t underestimate the power of a common man” 😛 err…mallu man… 😀

    I liked all the pictures..looks like a great adventure. Though the heat seemed quite severe..was it?

    On a serious note, the desert shall remember you for gifting drops of ‘salt water’ ..uss Pajero ke bahane desert ko bhi paani mila…. 😛 😀

    1. Heat was severe at 43 degrees C 😦 Came back home dehydrated and burnt 😛

      Lol @ the salt water 😛 It really got more salt water than that 😛

  4. now that’s adventurous and hot I think! do you regret 4.30 am getting up? The pictures are awesome some are postcard clicks 🙂
    P.S. I never got a ping on this post 😦

    1. No pings? Not again!!! 😦

      No regrets on getting up that early since it’s for a good thing. 😛 I am glad to know that you liked my pictures 🙂 Towards the end it got bad with around 44 degrees C 😦

  5. I Liked the pictures…very mesmerizingg – I could imagine to be in the Dunes 🙂
    The weather could be contained if enjoyment is on the Cards 🙂

    Though, It somewhere reminds me of Drifting on curved roads – Same as they are doing on the Sand Dunes 😀

    I wish I could Sit beside a Drifter soon 😀

    1. Glad you liked them 🙂 Yeah it was kind of wobbly all throughout… and sometimes in an angle 😀
      Hope your wishes come true!!!

  6. Oh fun! These pictures brought back wonderful memories! We went dune bashing in the Omani sands a few years ago, and we had an Arab guy driving the car…no scratch that..he wasn’t driving – more like throwing the 4 wheel drive over the highest dunes he could find at really awkward angles and ridiculous speeds. And the only sound we could hear the entire time, was the sound of my mom testing the limits of her vocal cords lol! 😀

    1. Hey Adi,
      Arab guys thrash their cars. Their suspensions and wheels don’t even last for 10-15 days. It’s just insane.

      It’s very scary for women and have heard stories of women getting down and then refusing to join for the remaining part of the journey 😛

      1. hahah yeah I bet! I can see why they’d get out of the car – although I think the adrenaline rush makes things more fun! 😉

Leave a Reply

