‘Kart’-ing around UAE

After a self imposed ban of few days, I am back. Too bored with life and blogs being my main source of driving boredom away, I would help myself by posting something, something that I have missed out posting and something that deserves a mention in my blog. 

Some 4 or 5 years ago, I was in Goa with a friend of mine. We were there for some 4-5 days and our trip was different. We visited a lot of places, didn’t smoke week, drink our heads off, didn’t womanize but did Kart twice. My first experience with Karts was pathetic cos I was left injured by the end of it. Those tiny little things which sat so low slung on the ground and smelled fuel. I burnt my hand by hitting the motor behind which was left unguarded (happens only in India) and some fat American kid hit my kart from the back when my throttle was not responding. It was quite a burn and the back part of my hands had very little flesh un-burnt.

Years later when I moved in UAE, I found a temporary solution to depression and boredom. These places require a mention in my blog, I felt…

1. Dubai Kartdrome :

I have been to this place twice or thrice and it is probably one of the best places to be in UAE. I feel it is a bit over-priced at 120 AED for a 15 minute session (INR 2000, $31) but this place is professional. They give you a track suit, a helmet, safety briefing and the staff there are very helpful. The karts do feel a bit old these days but not Indian old. The circuit is amazing with around 17 bends and one or two good straight. My lap times were pathetic and there people who were 6-8 secs faster than me. I am not particularly a good driver but it’s all about having fun.

This summer they are running a promotional offer of buy 2 and get 1 free. It sure looks tempting but I don’t think I am allowing them to drill a hole further in my wallet for now. 😛

All about Kartdrome.

2. Emirates Kart Zone:

I heard about this place from a former colleague. He said there was a cheaper option to Kartdrome which was closer to me. They charge you a 100 AED for 15 mins which is slightly less than the above mentioned. I have never been here so I might write about them (maybe) if I ever happen to drive there.

All about Emirates Kart Zone.

3. Emirates Karting Centre, Jebel Ali:

I have been there twice. Once to wait in line then leave and once to drive. I like this place a lot. The karts are very old and they back fire, the track has sand and potholes and it gets a bit risky if emotions are not kept in check. The number of people who have crashed here are not less. I was also thrown in the sand cos I couldn’t take a corner properly (a-noob). At 100 AED for 30 mins it sure is value for money but the track is tiny with 6-7 corners as compared to the Dubai Kartdrome. Once you get the track then it becomes easy. There is not lap timing printouts like above mentioned but a great place to go out with family and friends since the place is far from city and free of crowd.

There is no web page dedicated to Jebel Ali Karting centre. The Google map coordinates are 24.982982, 55.020079.

4. Al-Ain Raceway :

In the emirates of Al-Ain, there is another karting place known as Al-Ain raceway. Again I have never been here but as I can see it looks good. The circuit is 1.6 kms and the karts looks new. At the price of 120 AED per 15 minute I don’t think I am driving 250 kms one way just to drive a go-kart here. Sorry!

All about the Al-Ain Raceway.

5. The RAK track:

The latest go-kart track in the emirates of Ras Al-Khaimah. Yet again I haven’t been here. But heard that the karts are really good. The price is more or less the same at 100AED per 15 minute session.

All about The Raktrack.

Until the next time, see you all… keep revving 🙂

61 thoughts on “‘Kart’-ing around UAE”

    1. Hmm… Well, have to wait till the day when they make marriages between men and car legal,lol. Apart from that I don’t have any other love interests for now 😀

    1. Hahaha… hardcore 😛

      Trust me, in ‘Jelebi’ chances are that I’ll be in sand and you cannot do it alone. With friends it is fun. The other places are very competitive. Lap timings, people trying to overtake and things like that 🙂

      1. No, actually I haven’t been to Ferrari world. Need to get a friend to come along. I hope this winter I can try and go there 🙂

  1. Hmm after reading the post i am just wondering why I haven’t tried the karting thing yet!! And also Wish you a speedy UN-depression phase!! 🙂

    1. Depression is an old buddy. Comes in sometimes without invitation and stays with me for a while and then leaves 🙂

      I think you should try. It’s fun even if you are not going to compete, it’s still fun. 🙂

      1. Hmm… In that case anoop, sending some laughing and positive smileys to your side!!! And about the karting thing, have put this up on my list of things to do when I can!! Cheers 😀

      2. Thank you so much 🙂
        And I am glad that you have put it up in your to do list. It’s an amazing thing to do 🙂

        Have a great day!

  2. Welcome back, buddy. 🙂

    Karting is indeed one of the little joys in a petrolhead’s life. 😀

    Tell you what, I’ll take you to the local karting place the next time you land.

    1. Thanks brother 🙂 Karting is amazing and when it becomes time trial, it’s very competitive indeed.

      Great. It will be fun. We will crowd the go-kart track 🙂

    1. Of Goa I have a few pictures 🙂 but this post was a sudden wake from my sleep. So I didn’t have anything handy. But next time… pakka 🙂

      Haha.. so true about the tagline 🙂

      1. Hehehe… Hai na. There are tons of them. You didn’t explore my page well. I saw your son n hubby btw 🙂

      2. Sure you are 🙂 No doubt about that. Someday I’ll also learn something from you, maybe managing finances 😛 But you have to be very patient with me. I am a pathetic student. lol

Leave a Reply

