Copa America 2015

Over these years the one thing that has not changed for me is the pleasure of watching a good football match. I always have a debate in my mind as to Football or Cars&Bikes; which was my first love and every single time I realize that I will never have an answer to that.

This will break the record of my late night/early morning post. But it is well deserved.

The Copa America 2015 final was nothing less than a festival of football. I thoroughly enjoyed watching it. 120 mins of football and penalties. Chileans were amazing and I never expected them to be this good but I was sure they were good sides. Argentina with the likes of Aguero, Rojo, Higuain, Zabaleta, Di Maria and finally Messi had great advantage on paper but the game was all fair and square.

There is always something about Messi that he would get ball past defenders no matter what. Chile defenders later on adopted the foolproof method of pulling him down and giving away a free kick instead of letting the Argentinan centre forward gallop through the defense. Alexis Sanchez, my little boy from Arsenal was amazing. Sergio Aguero is always a freak* as usual. Vidal was amazing, so was Vargas. I can’t thank them all enough for the amazing match and in the end by penalty shootout, CHILE won the Copa America 2015. A very well deserved victory and the winning penalty shot was put in by Alexis Sanchez in some style. I think Argentina made wrong substitutions and was a bit ahead of time and they should have kept Sergio Aguero on the pitch till the end. But whatever, respects to both the team.

I will be getting less than 3 hours of sleep for tomorrow, but then can’t watch Copa America 2015 live and I am pretty glad to have watched the match.

At this point, I can’t stop thinking that once there lived a little boy (me) who loved Brazil so much that he wouldn’t stop talking about Brazil if the topic of football came up. Guess he won’t be talking much about Brazil much these days other than complaining. Why would you not select experienced players (read legends) like Ronaldinho and instead select someone like Fred? Age must be a major concern, isn’t it? But then look what happened to your young squad. Sad for me cos I cannot get over the ‘Love for Brazilian Football Team syndrome’ but again this current Brazilian squad never deserved to play even the Quarter-finals and there is no two ways about it. No, I didn’t do the mistake of driving 30 kms and watching all the Brazilian matches like I did for the last world cup.

So on that late night bombshell, Happy Sunday everyone!


*freak – someone with abnormal capabilities (in a good way) 

 

39 thoughts on “Copa America 2015”

  1. Not a very big football fan here, so a very happy Wednesday to you. 😛

    PS: On Sunday the SIlverstone GP was on.. Copa America polum. 😀

  2. I was thinking about watching this final! But by the time Copa America was nearing the finish, Wimbledon had started for me – And I am a lazy person to watch late night and early morning sports 😀

      1. That is seasonal love 😛 once in 4 years. Anyways next year there is Euro, and after that confederations cup and then WC

      2. It is tournament love 😛 Seasonal love should be related to the leagues 😀
        No love at all for cricket though 😀

      3. Twisted forces 😛 Sachin chetan was always interested in every other game apart from cricket, for the same reason. Koza 😛

  3. Being the only girl in the village I live in made me play football with all the boys around me. I somehow started to love football, especially Brazilian Football Team. So, I totally understand where your Brazilian Football Team syndrome came from even though I’m getting more girly and no longer a football fans nowadays 😉

    1. Lol… Good to know that you liked to play football at some point of your life 🙂

      So how was your Euro trip? I am sure you had a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

