A glimpse of Professional Karting… only a glimpse!

Picking up from here and here. Non-enthusiasts may skip this post about Go-karts.


The next day after I made the last post, I picked up my car from the garage. I had a couple of assignments in the form of meeting a friend and a relative before I am off from this country for a few days. Usually once I enter the motorway, I’ll be driving at the highest speed I can within the limits, just keeping the speed below the flashing limits. That day was different. I had plenty of time and I was in no position to go back home as well. This relative of mine was busy with something and I had around 3 hours left.

So breaking the usual, I drove slow in the slower lanes to the extreme right and saw the carsΒ zoom past me. This was not usual and since it was not usual, I enjoyed the time. I was done with my friend and there were still 2 hours to go. Dubai Autodrome/kartdrome happens to be on the way , so an idea occurred. Why not Kart? What a marvelous idea!

Last time I was there, I couldn’t click pictures and hence this time I decided I would. I enquire about the next session.

‘An hour later’Β 

:O How dare you….snub me off like that? I have to leave in an hour else I’ll be late.Β 

These were not the exact words but the receptionist mentioned about a private professional karting session that was going on. It was about to finish. I just walk to track and

Behold…that glorious noise greeted me with a hug and a sweet kiss. That was pretty heart warming and spine chilling at the same time.

Let me share a video of what I saw…

I know the video is pathetic, but bear with me please. The idea was to record the professional Karts revving to glory.

Some pictures that I ended up clicking…

tn_IMAG0480-2
The normal karts

 

tn_IMAG0482-2

 

After seeing this I went back to the reception and I asked again if there is vacancy for one in the next lot.

‘Only after 1.5 hrs’

I got snubbed big time. Sadly I clicked one more picture and left.

tn_IMAG0483-2

 

I resumed my casual drive towards another destination.

tn_IMAG0485-2

Thanks for reading… Good night!


All the pics and video taken on my mobile.

 

22 thoughts on “A glimpse of Professional Karting… only a glimpse!”

    1. Hello Somali,

      Thank you so much once again. Glad you liked the pics πŸ™‚ Kartdrome is kind of a kart track. I think it’s a made up word πŸ˜€

    1. There is a new one in RAK. Need to check that out as well. πŸ™‚ This one is pretty good, has a very good track and pretty competitive as well.

  1. Believe it or not I read this as.. Prince fellow… I thought this blog was on that Price whom PM Modi met…never mind… I would have asked you weather your been to the karting circuit in Dubai anyway… I used to watch F1 and that sound is music to my cars… like the motor or engine of the vehicle shown…like soul of vehicle… anyway, enjoy …so whats the speed limit you go at?, just below the speeding limit?

    1. I have been to Karting circuits couple of times πŸ™‚ Good to know that you used to follow F1. The engines before were brilliant.

      Speed limit is 120 and I drive at 135-140, at 141 you get flashed.

      1. You drive on the roads like that, or only at the racing circuits?… Yes I used to like Mika Hakenen and Jonny Herbert and Eddie Irwin… and hate Schmy, Micheal Schmaker… anyway I am sure you don’t drink and drive never do that…message given in account of public interest and wellbeing(:… You believe it or not as we all know people do that and its funny why they drive when they are ossy… take our Salu Bhai as role modle in that aspect…

      2. I drive on roads at 140 cos that’s the speed here. I like every F1 driver. All are talented πŸ˜€

        I don’t drink πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for the advice though πŸ™‚

        Have a good day.

  2. You drink water na… that message was issued in public interest… I have heard some story in radio about a couple going to a party, husband drank and drove and did accident and did not die. The poor wife had no choice for making quick bucks she became a prostitute… and she said if her husband did not drive the car that day she would have been normal…so maybe the story is true…anyway…

      1. Aare… this was before, some 3-4 months back. Let me see if I can find it. I’ll share the link if I can find it πŸ™‚

  3. hmmm… you know what that rj asked us listeners…she asked us our opinions…one listener told not to be judmental, since we are not into her circumtance and we do lot of wrong things anyway…. we should only ask the person does she think she is doing the right thing or something… I was wondering it was real or some commercial made for not drinking and driving… I know its crazy driving in highways normally, it will be worst when under blurrr… anyway

Leave a Reply

