A day before leaving ‘The Nilgiris’

The trip lasted for 3 days and 2 nights. The first day was spent travelling to the place. The second day was spent checking the places out and going back to olden days πŸ™‚

Let me photobomb you all with some pics that I had taken. My job was to sit at the passenger side and spot anything interesting, start debates and end up arguing and change music. My friends job was to drive only. So easy.

Shooting Spot (Also called as 9th mile?)

On the way to Pykara is this place. This is located on Ooty Mysore road and the famous Hindustan Photo Films can be seen on the left side as you leave Ooty. There is no way that one cannot enjoy the scenery of this place. It’s just mind blowing.

The Shooting spot has seen various Bollywood and other regional movie shootings. I remember seeing Atul Kulkarni sometime when I was here and not to forget Manisha Koirala as well.

Let pics do all the talking.

tn_DSC_0040
White Balance is off. Can’t be bothered to edit 😦

tn_DSC_0041

tn_DSC_0046

This flower was too small to be noticed. I hope someone notices this flower like I did. There are two of them so might as well give one away to someone!!! Someone needs a flower? πŸ˜‰

tn_DSC_0051

tn_DSC_0053

Entry fees : 5 rs per person

Timings : Morning 7 am till evening 6 pm

Pykara Boat house:

One of the most visited places in Ooty. It’s on the way to Mysore, some 20 odd kms and there are sign-boards. On the way to boat-house you can see a dam and if the dam is closed then don’t bother stopping at the Pykara Waterfalls. We were told that water for the Β Pykara waterfalls came from Pykara dam.

Further upfront, you have the boat house and lake. Beautiful place indeed. We didn’t do the boating to just show that we were grown up and we didn’t enjoy much of kids play. I know we were fooling ourselves.

tn_DSC_0054

tn_DSC_0058

tn_DSC_0059

Timings : Morning 7.30 – 8 am till evening 5:30 pm

Glenmorgan:Β 

On the way back from Pykara, you can see a deviation to Glenmorgan. The Glenmorgan estates have entry restrictions. We were obviously not let in. But the way to Glenmorgan is such a bliss. I would definitely want to go there alone on my motorbike. The roads look so calm.

Towards the end of Glenmorgan there is a small lake and a view point. Looks really good. My driver (friend) was really pissed off that there was not even a single jack fruit tree. So why the heck are we here? was his question. Some questions do not have answers. Let that be a punishment for coming on a road trip with me.

He saw a small place to take pics and then we started a new project

tn_DSC_0062

tn_DSC_0063

tn_DSC_0064

tn_DSC_0067

We never fail to destroy nature. I am sure this is some travelers from Kerala for sure. Glad we have some sense in us, in the name of god.
We never fail to destroy nature. This should be some traveler(s) from Kerala for sure. Glad we have some sense though travelling from Kerala, in the name of god.
Dude and his dude car waiting for me :)
Dude and his dude car waiting for me πŸ™‚

There was nature at the background witnessing everything we did.

tn_DSC_0075

We moved on from there towards Glenmorgan. There was nothing apart from the gates of the estate that we could focus on, so no photography there. We moved on towards the view point (there is a small place to see the mountains) and a lake. Please bother going there only if you love nature and if you are a fan of calmness.

Let’s explore some calmness.

Yeah, some messed up White Balance right there.
Yeah, some messed up White Balance right there.

tn_DSC_0084

Check out, not the car, but the mountains.

tn_DSC_0085

tn_DSC_0088

tn_DSC_0089

tn_DSC_0090

Once we move towards the view point,

tn_DSC_0098

tn_DSC_0100

tn_DSC_0101

And on returning back from Glenmorgan

tn_DSC_0102

Glenmorgan

tn_DSC_0107

Oh, this is one of my dream destinations to go on a solo motorbike ride. Empty roads with trees on either sides, a decent carpet of fallen leaves and silence interrupted by the regular chirp of birds.

Entry fees and Timing : None.

So with some more things to post, I leave this place for today. I think everyone has a good reason to look forward to my next post because I have the toy train journey to cover.

On that happiness filled bombshell, see you all later. Good night!


(To be contd…)

PS: 200 posts done. Pretty glad because not one post here was out of compulsion that I haven’t posted for long. I hope to have kept some quality in this blog as I wished for from before. My aim while starting this blog was to share only short-stories, travelogues and photographs here, while I deal with my boredom effectively. I have shared much more thanΒ the above mentionedΒ here. The best thing about this blog is that I didn’t expect anything from here, but in fact I have receivedΒ much more that I can ever imagine. Life is very unpredictable sometimes. Thanks people for putting up with my bs. πŸ™‚Β 

69 thoughts on “A day before leaving ‘The Nilgiris’”

  1. You have sharing so much with us, and I have had fun reading and traveling with you, Anoop! Great shots, keep photobombing us, please. πŸ™‚

    1. Hey Ashmiii πŸ™‚

      Glad to see you here after a long time. Thank you for the lovely comment.

      I was thinking about you yesterday in regards to something else πŸ™‚ I thougt I might message you sometime soon, but then here you are today. hehe

      Have a great day!

    1. Hello Nimmi,

      How are you? πŸ™‚

      I am glad you liked the place and pictures. There are a lot of places in the interiors that other tourists won’t know, but since I lived there for a bit… I had the opportunity to visit them as well. πŸ™‚

      Have a great day, Birdie πŸ™‚ Cheers!

      1. Hey dear!! I’m doin’ fine.
        The untouchable places are indeed, beautiful… I’m so glad you went there and explore this beautiful place.
        Hope you are doin great. Have a nice day, dear! πŸ™‚ ❀

    1. Hello Nisha,

      It’s a good place for a short vacation. I hope you really get a chance to visit this place pretty soon. I am sure you will like it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day.

    1. πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked the pictures. That place is so good that even with any camera, you can still take fantastic pictures.

      Have a great day! Cheers πŸ™‚

  2. OMG! The beauty it has is surreal! The beautiful landscape is really fascinating!!! I would have rolled around like a kid if I were there. A place to refresh your mind and nourish your soul. Awesome trip it is! Thanks for posting these stunning photos and sharing this virtual trip with us Anoop! ❀

    1. Hello Khloe,

      How are you?
      I am very glad to know that you liked my pictures and the places. I also hope you can visit India someday πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I hope all is well in your world. Have a great day.
      Cheers!

      1. Hi Anoop,
        I’m great thanks. Just a bit sick as the weather starts changing. How you been? I always like your photos and I’m sure you know that πŸ˜‰ Yes, I do hope the same as well. India is truly a beautiful place ❀ Thanks! Have a beautiful Sunday! πŸ™‚

      2. Oh I hope you get better soon. Might just be the weather.

        Anyways, I am glad to hear that you like my pics πŸ™‚ Thank you so much.

        Good day to you!

  3. Congratssss Anoop! 200 posts huh! You’ve had an awesome run so far and looking forward to soo much more now πŸ™‚ Also, I think you’ve given a lot more than you have received from this blog. Really :))

    Life and the unpredictability…that’s what makes it interesting and worth living, na? πŸ™‚

    By the way, loved the pics, especially the ones from the viewing point. On my list, again πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you for being so sweet and kind with your words πŸ™‚

      So as an offer for being sweet, I can be your guide for the view point πŸ˜‰

      1. I was trying to be nice, then suddenly I remembered that I am talking to a mean person. πŸ˜› Offer revoked, hehehe

  4. Dear Annopji I use your blog comment for stress busting too since you respond(: … that being my sinful indulgence I always thought you share good content here… from fast cars, to boring life, to car driving video, to sweet short stories, to those ranting which are rubbish… and nice photos and travel chronicals… keep up… will try commenting good mature comments, instead of the playful ones that downgrade me to the minor avatar… not that I mind that… being a kid at heart has its own charms if kept within limits… lovely pictures and chrnocals Anoopji… I like it you do this as hobby and its a useful endeavour but still does something to your life… life is weird and different indeed, don’t know what pops up… so true… bloggind is a lot of fun too… pour a bit of our soul here and refreash…anyway… not that I am blogger too lazy for that…

    1. Minty ji,
      You don’t have to comment in a mature way. hehe. I can still call you aunty if you want, even if you comment in a childish way? Is that what you want? hehehe

      Thank you so much and I am happy to know that you enjoy my blog and posts, except the good words in some of the posts πŸ˜› When I learnt tamil, the first words my friends taught me started with C, hehehe. Anyways …. It’s nice to have you here as well.

      Hope to hear more of minty mile stories from your end. πŸ™‚

      1. ha ha ji… you reminded me inadvertly not to take things seriously… na ji me will always have comments putting doubth on my age, but it does not matter(: … yes I comment in yer blogs after update… travel stories and nature are my favorite so never get bored reading them… me went night trekking chumma(: recently…got a glow in my soul to last a few days until I do something super exciting when ever I do… nice day… and you remind me of the auntiji song(: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HYrrHIk6l8 … I wish I can sing it to aunties though(: … suppose I dedicate it to myself I like the song now… aunty or no aunty, fun song anyway… I will dedicate it to yer mom for now(: simpily… goodday anoopji

      2. Hehehe…lol, you want to sing it to my mother? Welcome πŸ˜›
        So what super exciting thing are you going to do? Minty mile. I hope you share that with us.

        Good day!

      3. Me went for night trek… done… might go for another soon(: … I had a good and sad thing in one day… that was the special thing… hot and sour vegetable corn soup… though I like cucumber soup better…

      4. Did no animals dare to eat you? Just kidding.

        What is with the soup? Never knew there was cucumber soup, but then humans make soup of whatever they get in hand. Even snakes and frogs, right? Won’t you think about a snake soup while drinking soup next time? hehe

      5. Soups… yes cucumber soup I tasted in five star hotles, they are there and are yummy(: … its not there often in other places… I won’t ming tomato and pepper soup, sweet corn or that mushroom soup… but cucumber is my favorite or atleast was when I had it years ago… not witch to feed on frogs or snakes… even in Harry Potter frog or snacks not used for making magic potions… you like soups… if we ever meet lets have bowl of cup together(:

      6. Actually all rounder… I watch what comes on TV (: … generally on TV they show sucky tamil movies… majority of what I watch is Hollywood(: … my Hindi movie knowledge was really bad and provably still is, but I catch up with the ones which I think are worth a watch buying dvds.

      7. Oh great.

        Btw, Minty ji what does Andapo mean? In my place Andappan is name of a person who should most probably be from a village. Is it the female version of Andappan?

      8. I intended to comment as Minty Mile it keeps turning to Andapo… no idea what Andapo means… its rather frustrating to see that Andapo is here when it was Mnty Mile that was the intended commentator… ha… maybe its a foreign lady, I have not gone through the Andapo site myself… looks like lifestyle, fashion and home decor blog combined(: … no travel and photography in it I guess, how boring):

  5. You bring so much awesomeness here with lots of photos! And congrats on the 200 – you do blog steady πŸ˜€ Btw, you have a watermark logo? That looks nice πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you so much Teny. That was an amazing comment to read πŸ™‚

      I have a picture of logo and I stick it on top of the main picture and resize it πŸ˜›

  6. Congrats on the 200th post man!! πŸ™‚

    Like the others here, I too am a fan of your new logo. πŸ˜€

    Lovely pics, as ever, and do keep them coming!

  7. Mountains/hills are my favorite. πŸ™‚ One can’t help but feel relaxed and “at home”… Thanks for sharing the photographs! Maybe one day, when I visit the Nilgiris, I’ll be saying, “Hey! I remember seeing this place on Anoop’s blog!” πŸ˜€ Wouldn’t that be something? Gosh, the world is a small place. Anyway. Congratulations on writing 200 posts! And happy blogging. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

