Toy train journey @ ‘The Nilgiris’

Picking up from here. I wanted to end the travel details with this post, but too much of info in one post would kill the fun. So maybe another post to write about me leaving ‘The Nilgiris’… 


After Glenmorgan was done, we drove through some olden places. We saw places like Lovedale and Shantoor, which are not known to the external tourists. These are all beautiful places; tiny hamlets. My friend definitely wasn’t much interested by the idea of driving through those narrow, less traveled hence broken piece of tarmac but nonetheless we traveled through those places and I felt good.

So in the evening I was hell bent on making a travel in the toy train which either goes from Coonoor to Ooty or in the opposite direction. We were near Shantoor and hence chose to board at Ketti which happens to be a small station located right at the center of Ooty and Coonoor.

My friend, being the amazing person that he is, again was least interested in doing it. He had his car with him, plus he is not much into nostalgia and stuff; kind of doing good in his life financially hence. We end up doing stupid things in the name of memories, nostalgia and other emotional crap in life. But I don’t regret it for once. Memories are something I thrive on.

By the time I made it to Ketti Railway station, the train towards Ooty had long gone. The next option was going to Coonoor which is in opposite direction of travel to my hotel. Still I took my tickets and told my friend to leave and I shall take a bus and come back to the hotel. He was still on double minds as to travel or not, but I didn’t want to make him do it for my sake.

We had plenty of time to explore the surroundings as the train would arrive only half an hour later. We take pics and lot of pics….

This is the beautiful Ketti…. who wouldn’t love to be in a railway station right in the center of woods. This life at this place is so slow that I waited for half an hour which felt like two. No complaints though.

tn_DSC_0108

Narrow gauge railway lines, one of the few in the country.

tn_DSC_0109

A toy train wagon

tn_DSC_0113

tn_DSC_0114

The station master’s cabin

tn_DSC_0115

The view from the station master’s cabin to the external world.

tn_DSC_0116

Take a good look at the above pic and now at the below pic… If you still didn’t get it, feel free to use the comments section 🙂

tn_DSC_0117

Symmetric view…maybe

tn_DSC_0119

There arrives my ride for the evening.

tn_DSC_0121

Drifting into memories….Memories never die (that’s a good song if you want to check it out)

tn_DSC_0122

tn_DSC_0123

Finally when Aravangadu arrived, I clicked a pic of the mountains afar.

tn_DSC_0128

The worst thing about the train journey were the tourists. There was this one family howling in the wagon that I was sitting, I had to literally cover my ears. I don’t understand how hard it is to respect other people and existence on this planet. I hope they left the Nilgiris and crawled back soon to the caves they came from, without creating much nuisance.

Obviously the parents and kids and siblings howled out much to my dislike that I had to get out of that wagon and sit with the wagon in-charge in the open, outside the wagon. That was fun though it had become dark by then.

Finally after couple of minutes, Coonoor (my destination arrived). I got down and walked to the bus station, boarded a bus towards Ooty. That was another great feeling, travelling in those dirtiest of dirty buses. I have done that a lot but wouldn’t recommend to anyone who is visiting the hills for the first time.

Once the bus journey was done, I reached my hotel and crashlanded on my bed for the next day.

On that rather wonderful bombshell, see you all later. Good night!


To be contd…

 

 

 

54 thoughts on “Toy train journey @ ‘The Nilgiris’”

  1. Such a beautiful small station, Ketti…I loved the name. Narrow gauge railway lines…I haven’t seen any of this before… 🙂

    And, yes…some tourists literally shout while they “discuss” things among themselves 😦 some keep on munching foods creating greater noise… 😥

      1. That’s why I went to a distant railway station. Perks of living in a place too long 😛 😛 If I visit Kolkata, I will definitely ask you for tips and tricks na, cos you live there. Something like that… 😀

  2. My goodness, how did you take pictures on the corner? 😀 I have hate and love relationship with trains..it’s too complicated to explain, but one of the troubles I remember was the noisy passengers like you had..

    Now I am looking forward to the next installment 😉

    1. Hello Indah,

      Next installment will need all the typing here. Oh…:(

      People make so much noise even when they can avoid that. That is sad actually. 😦

      1. Yes, that’s the annoying part 😦 It happens in the Netherlands too – so the train now has several “Silence” carriage – we were not allowed to talk inside this carriage 😀

  3. Oh I’ve been on this train!! It offers such mesmerising views of the valley! =D
    Sad that you had such troublesome passengers with you. In my case, my co-passengers were so engrossed in their own mobiles and tablets that they care way too less to the amazing view that the train journey offered..

    1. Yes, definitely they offer the views of the valley. They don’t give motion sickness, so during my days when I used to live here… whenever I had fever I used to take the train down or up.

      That’s sad that your co-passengers didn’t enjoy the train journey much. 😛

      1. Andapaaa,

        No money to buy new lens. Costs a bomb. No new lens means no new experiments. Everything in this world costs a lot of money…. 😦

      2. ouch… yeah I know I am not doing many things I want to because don’t have money…whatever money I have I spend it on eating food purposely and going on night treks): … ha

      3. true… then imagine those who are really really poor…atleast we are well enough to survive and travel and eat well(: …only recreation is a luxury not necessities

  4. What a genius idea to have a train station in the center of the woods! 🙂 Nothing is more perfect to enjoy the view while waiting for the train!!! I can totally feel the serenity through your gorgeous photos 😉 It’s a great place to relax. Such a beautiful post! ❤

    Noisy passengers are one of the worst things ever when traveling. They simply ignore to respect others. Poor Anoop suffered from the noise they made! 😦

    1. Ketti was chosen cos I didn’t want to deal with the crowd. Usually tourists will be all over the place in Ooty. This is much better to get tickets and peacefully wait ….

  5. The howlers are damned creatures. They howled so much in hell that they were sent to Earth to disrespect the humans instead of demons 😀

    I have been there, but couldn’t travel in the toy train or rather this WOW train 😦

    Ketti – is it a place to go after marriage/kettu? 😛

    1. Hehe… howlers are horrible. They should be made to eat hot ice-creams and drink ice-cold water 😛

      The train journey is good. Maybe next time you should… 🙂

      Ketti, though written ‘Ketti’ is pronounced as ‘Khetti’, like farming in Hindi. 😛 So no one got married.

      1. So, no food for that marriage which never happened 😛

        Howlers should be the reason why aliens stop their flying saucers and spaceships deciding not to land on Earth 😛

        Yes, next time then; when there is not much rush 🙂

      2. hehehe… no free food. 😛

        Howlers basically saved our planet 😛

        Go to places like Wellington, Aravangadu, Ketti, Lovedale for a peaceful train journey. My favorite is Lovedale, it’s a beautiful place 🙂 Ketti is not bad. Wellington and Aravangadu are boring. 😛

      3. Never been to those places but yeah, train journey is there in those hill stations.

        Maybe someday, I will visit them places.

Leave a Reply

