Remembering Shoba

After a very uneasy day, I finally felt at ease with a two hour long nap. The exact reason of my body still supporting my eyes to stay awake this late night. Today was just another day filled with irritated agitations of mind. I am used to this state of mind, people associated with me aren’t, but I am. For some reason, I love this as much as any other thing in me.

Usually evenings are for YouTube. I select one song and YouTube keeps playing the rest of the songs for me while I do my work. It was late and again I am used to this. Being awake at odd times have always been a part and parcel of my life.

After my work, I came back and sat down in front of YouTube. It was playing a song from the Tamil movie called May Madham (The month of May). A.R. Rahman’s music was mind blowing, especially then. I just got curious about the director whose name is Balu (Venus Balu) but not long after that I stumbled across Balu Mahendra’s profile on Wiki.

I know him, yes I definitely do. I was accustomed to watching old malayalam movies with my parents and hearing their rants about movies, from my childhood. It’s very sad that they don’t continue that norm now a days. It was good fun when my mother used to poke me to show my father getting all excited watching those over exaggerated fight scenes and we would burst out into laughter.

On one such occasion, I remember watching this movie called ‘Shaline ente Kootukari’ (Shalini, my friend) with my mother. The movie featured Shoba in the lead role, who was by then no more. My mother quoted about her marriage to Balu Mahendra at an early age of 17 years and then followed by her suicide.

She looked very ordinary compared to the likes of Divya Bharti or Raveena Tandon, but there is something really good about being ordinary. Those were my impressions and I liked that. I like ordinary. It takes a lot of talent for an ordinary person to reach heights.

Today after a long long time, when I was reminded of her, I didn’t waste time but went through her Biography. I was amazed by the number of movies a 17 year old had done. Though I didn’t bother counting them, my eyes say it must be more than a hundred. A little more going through her profile made me realize that her mother Prema (who was also an actress by profession) had committed suicide four years later just like her daughter.

In retrospect, there are so many faces I can quickly remember who have died or killed themselves much earlier than their times. Shoba was one, Monisha was another, Divya Bharati was also in the list and the list goes on…. But as a matter of fact, I look at their life and see that they have achieved so much in their life in that short span but when I look at myself and in these three decades of existence, I fail to point out one achievement as such… just one. I think they are like those shooting stars, which come for a short period and bang; they do what they need to and then leave. They were meant to be there for just that period and leave. Maybe…

This is my second post remembering someone, the first one was about Nanditha (the poet) and now Shoba. Pretty glad they come across my mind and I can type about them as well as go back to those days. A memory of any kind would be good enough ode to any artist. Probably she deserves better than this but unfortunately, this is all I have to offer.

I am sure none of the modern day crazy movie goers would find time for watching these old movies, neither are they played on channels these days due to lack of demand but I am definitely sure that some movies from those days were worth a watch. Hopefully yet unfortunately, none of the people of my generation would even know who Shoba is, a thing I am very sure of. But well then, if I can tell some of them about her…. why not!

On that midnight bombshell, you are not completely forgotten 🙂


 

13 thoughts on “Remembering Shoba”

  1. I had to Google Shoba! She’s from before our time man, how do you know these people? 😛
    I was heartbroken when Monisha and Divya Bharti passed away. They did some really lovely movies.
    Suggestion some movie of Shoba no, will try and watch if I can get a hold of it 🙂

  2. I really have no idea about the actress. Just googled. A very premature death indeed and she was quite good looking..maybe not like Divya Bharti, but she had a very sweet face.

    I remember your post about the poet, Nanditha.

    There are some people, who are meant to live for a short time, but they leave their footprints very distinctly..isn’t it? Indeed, we live not in years, but in deeds.

    1. She has done roles some good roles. The number of movies are around 80 or 100, so she was a hit.

      I also remember about Sukanta 😛

      Years don’t count really. It’s important to have an eventful life if you ask me. 🙂

      Thanks mani 🙂 Take care!

  3. Though I’m not familiar with Indian movie and stories that you mention here, I found the post is very interesting to read and do think you are a wonder writer. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, ANoop!
    Keep writing 🙂

  4. This post of yours moved me. The feelings you had reflected in me too. The part where some of them achieve so much in such a short time. As you mentioned, I haven’t heard of Shobha. But, Monisha, yes. Many times, I have heard people at home talking about her and recently I watched Kamaladalam again. She was such a gifted dancer.

    Thanks for this post Anoop. It was soulful. 🙂

    1. I have watched some movies of Shoba from childhood. Thanks to my parents who loved to watch movies a lot.

      Thank you so much Ranju, have a good day 🙂

  5. Although I know nothing about them, I do feel sorry that they were only there for a short period of time. Well, they were probably meant to be here like a “shooting star” like you said. Great post and very well reflected Anoop! 😉

Leave a Reply

