Jazirat Al Hamra – A ghost town…. really?

If there is a ghost town or a haunted place nearby, I got to visit that place.

I heard about this place in the local news site, which happens to post the crappiest of news. I never imagined that they would post something I would be a bit interested in and they did, silver lining.

There were quite a few blogs that has taken up the challenge and covered this place. I have read a number of them before going to this place. Couple of them are here and here. They are pretty informative if you guys want to go through it.

Reaching here :Β 25.709837, 55.795394 . These are the direct coordinates to the place.

It was some odd hundred kilometers from this place and decided why not pay a visit? It was evening. I raided the place with my camera. The place being haunted, all the pics have been forcefully converted to B&W …

We start and end with the Golf as usual,

tn_DSC_0405

tn_DSC_0408

tn_DSC_0409

tn_DSC_0410

tn_DSC_0411

tn_DSC_0412

tn_DSC_0415

tn_DSC_0416

tn_DSC_0419

tn_DSC_0420

 

tn_DSC_0421

tn_DSC_0426

Even ghosts watch TV shows these day (pun intended)

tn_DSC_0427

tn_DSC_0428

tn_DSC_0429

 

tn_DSC_0430

tn_DSC_0433

Did I see any ghosts?

Well, I saw a guy who was drunk and carrying his bottle of booze and coming out of one of the abandoned building. He saw me and he hid the booze quickly. Then he started following me. I let him follow me for a bit, before I asked him

‘Why you following me?’ (in urdu since the guy was clearly from either Pak, Bangladesh or India)

He replied me saying that he was just enjoying himself walking with me and seeing me click pictures.

Some enjoyment that is … hehe

That was my experience there.

Would I recommend this place to anyone?

NO. It’s some broken buildings with nothing much to do. If you are coming early in the morning, this place might make up for a good location for practicing early hour photography.

On that bombshell, good night!


 

27 thoughts on “Jazirat Al Hamra – A ghost town…. really?”

  1. Ghosts are hard to find! I always have met people saying they have heard ( not seen) ghost stories about this and that places πŸ˜€

    BTW, it looks like a nice photo walk you had…such dilapidated houses and a deserted place have ample to offer to a photographer… πŸ™‚

    1. People who have seen ghosts are no more, I think. Ghosts like privacy and people like bragging. So they have no choice but to kill people who see them πŸ˜› (some theory .. hehe)

      Thank you Mani. I’m glad you liked them pictures πŸ™‚

  2. Good that you decided to convert these pictures into B&W as it fits the “haunted” theme perfectly. I appreciated how brave you were visiting this place. I’m sure I have no guts to do so lol πŸ˜€ Glad you saw that man only, not ghosts πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

