New Year Day celebrations

When the world decides to party on the new year night, Batman (me, in this case) decides to stay back home. Not because Batman doesn’t like celebrations, but Batman has other plans on the 1st of Jan.

I decided to witness sunrise in the mountains, alone. Good call by me, pretty proud of myself for doing that.

The itinerary was tough for the day,

  1. Wake up early morning.
  2. Drive to Jebel Al Jais mountains.
  3. Take pics, enjoy the roads, reach there before sun rise.

The later part was decided when I was standing at the top of the mountains.

  • Return back via coastal roads.
  • Stop at the coast, take pictures
  • Stop at the abandoned air-field, sneak in and take pics of my son standing tall with an aircraft (proud moment as a father)
  • On the way back, visit another beach and take pictures.
  • Go home.

Part A : Jebel Al Jais and related stuff…

For those who are new to my blog, I have visited these mountains before and here is a small log about the mountains, a lot of pictures and a review from non-enthusiast point of view. The part 1 of that is here. If you are interested in reading, you might as well start from Part 1.

I was reading my post from then and frankly, I was clinically insane to give a rating of 5/10 for that place. I have visited this place 6 times in total and I want to go back again for the roads. This road is so challenging. It has managed to scare me every single time and this time also it didn’t fail to do so. Man, that road is amazing. Period.

A small YouTube video of a McLaren 650s spider being tested on those roads, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed watching this.

So I witnessed the sunrise over here. The sun rises on time though and I find it difficult that it rises on time and not 5-10 mins late but still managed it somehow. Sharing some of the better pics of the collection….

tn_DSC_0272

There is black convertible Porsche in those uphill cars. I could hear it from the summit. It must be a Boxster S convertible maybe?

tn_DSC_0283

tn_DSC_0284

As usual, my son standing tall and proud.

tn_DSC_0290

Part B : Everything after Jais…

The crowd was ocean like. Since crowd brings along trash with them, I didn’t stay for more than 2 mins at the top. I left and found a less crowded spot and started thinking about…. what next!

Coastal road, pictures, Air-Base, more pictures, the empty beach, even more pictures.

On the way back from Jais, there is a slower option. An option to choose coastal roads and I did that.

tn_DSC_0303

tn_DSC_0314

My old gen son and the new gen one…. Looks elegant the new one, but doubt if it still sports a manual transmission.Β tn_DSC_0311

From there I left without wasting much time. The next mission was a very risky one.

The old Air-Base is closed and they have fenced the entrance. There is a small off-road path that takes you to this place and I decided to risk it and take my son there. He is much better than the old rusted Air-planes standing there…. Trust me, he is.

tn_DSC_0326

The other plane standing on the other side had no vehicle access. Never mind, I walked to the place…

tn_DSC_0332

And before I leave the Air-Base… sneaky selfie

tn_DSC_0341

Next? To an empty beach? Hamriyah is a part of UAE which is isolated from crowd. For this reason, I love going there.

tn_DSC_0345

This place below is a bit special though…

tn_DSC_0348

tn_DSC_0363

And then… went back home and slept off. It was a wonderful New Year day. Yesterday it rained hard, so we were allowed to leave pretty early from work. What more can you ask for at the start of a New Year!

On that rather glad bombshell, Good Night!


 

37 thoughts on “New Year Day celebrations”

  1. Another way to spend the new year. πŸ™‚ By yourself and with your beloved πŸ˜‰ Lovely pictures! I am glad that you reached in time for sun rise. May this year bring lots of trips your way. I spent mine writing. πŸ™‚

      1. Yes it is πŸ™‚ I wanted to be out on the streets. But this time since it wasn’t possible, my next choice was writing. I did not want to sleep πŸ˜€

  2. One of my friends, she lives in Sharjah, we met after two years on 30th December, and she was telling me about the ride on Jebel Al Jais πŸ˜€

    So, you’ve spent the day in your own way. Happy for you…but you haven’t mentioned the food you had on the first day of the year πŸ˜›

    Wonderful pictures as always, Anoop…you’re a proud dad, no doubt… πŸ™‚

    1. Aare…since I’m not a foodie, I don’t even remember what I eat most of the times. It must have been some bread and butter or something like that πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      Sharjah is a mini India. Traffic jams and crowded streets with a lot of Asian crowd πŸ˜€

      Thanks Mani πŸ™‚ Always glad to see you here.

  3. What a wonderful way to celebrate the New Year! πŸ™‚ Celebrating the New Year this way is way better than partying to me. Jebel Al Jais mountains are very beautiful and definitely worth waking up early. Your photos here are just amazing – the colors, the crispness and the composition are perfect. ❀ I just can't stop staring at them. πŸ˜› Happy 2016 Anoop! ❀

    1. Happy New Year 2016 to you too Khloe πŸ™‚ I am glad you liked my way of celebrations better….Hope this year brings more joy to your life.

      Have a good day!

      1. Thank you very much for your wonderful wishes and wish the same to you! πŸ™‚ ❀ Honestly, I think the way you celebrated the New Year is one of the best πŸ˜‰

    1. Hello Bilna,

      Long time no see. Enjoying your new year ehh πŸ™‚

      Anyways, Happy New Year to you and family and I’m glad you liked the pics.

  4. Great start to the New Year! Love the photos… Especially the one capturing a considerable length of the uphill road… And the Air Base ones… Seems like an interesting place!

Leave a Reply

