Lost…In time – By a time-traveler

For me, time is the one of the most important and valuable resource. I must admit there is guilt associated with my life; guilt for all the time wasted on things that matter little or spent with people I don’t care about. Moving forward, I’ll really miss the time that has already slipped past my hands. Time which I could have spent traveling, riding my motorbike, going out with my friends and being with my loved one. Time that I could have been creative and productive. Guilt hits me hard when I know that I have wasted not months but years doing things that will not add up to or enhance my future in anyways, neither these wasted years have brought me any good or nor do I expect it will bring any good.

Accept my apologies, ‘time’. You leap forward agile as a Cheetah.  I am sorry for not having used you wise. I have been stuck and stagnant; have barely moved from where I was, for the longest of periods. Being stuck and stagnant fills you with nothing but filth and dirt.  Today I have nothing to offer other than filth and dirt.

I will miss all those valuable years…

A Time-Traveler

 

72 thoughts on “Lost…In time – By a time-traveler”

  1. Something we all regret. Something we all realise when it is gone. But then there is hope. Hope of having more time to do all that you couldn’t, to discover yourself all over again. Don’t you worry Time-traveler! There’s plenty of time ahead of you. 🙂

    1. Hello Rekha,

      I don’t know if I’m the time-traveler mentioned in the post.

      As you said, we all live in the hope that we will have more time to do things we haven’t done. 🙂

      Have a good day!

  2. Just look at the coincidence. While I was wondering over the time I have spent doing things which hardly meant anything to me, in the afternoon, I read a post which is totally relatable. I guess I couldn’t have put it that aptly. Thank you Anoop for involuntarily putting my emotions into words. :’)

    1. Hello Mamta,

      I also wonder sometimes about the same thing. Today after a while, I wanted to post something short… hence this post 🙂

      Thanks to you too for the wonderful comment!

  3. You need not to apologize to Time so vehemently, that old gypsy man is habituated to this things. All of us, well almost 99% of humankind have wasted, are wasting and shall waste time in the very same way you did. I can vouch for myself 😀 I’ve spent most of the time sleeping 😛

    On a serious note, time and tide waits for none. Don’t regret, it’s never too late to begin, be it a new hobby, chasing a new dream, buying a new car, or finding a new girl-friend… 😀 Cheer up…:-)

    1. Hey Mani,

      Not too worried re. Just a short post because I have been away for so many days 😛 But yes I do regret a bit on passing time like this and growing old 😛

      I don’t think you ever sleep. You have work, you make 2 posts per day in WP alone, you have a family to attend to and finally social networks 😛 That’s 24 hrs well utilized 🙂

  4. Sir Sometimes doing nothing is also goood.. In the mad rush that we are all running in ..

    BUt no need to say sorry .. Each day is a GOOD start.. and TOday is that day for sure …

  5. Shoh! Time ipo karanju poi kanum.
    I wouldn’t apologize with time. If anything, time is something you can’t reason with. To someone like that an apology doesn’t count. 😉

    1. Yes, I think you are right. The timing needs to be right to utilize the time which is available to us well.

      Too much philosophy ehh… 😛 I can see people and their bleeding eyes 😀 😀

  6. You are very clever, more than a lot of youngsters that they don’t even know they are wasting of time… I didn’t when I was young. 🙂 Beautifully written, AnooP!

    1. Hello Amy,

      I think it’s given that most people waste their 20’s and 30’s. Only later they realize and start living life properly 🙂

      Have a great day!!!

      1. I think it’s a growing journey. So long we had fun and experienced what we did (good or bad) and learned what we need to learn, we are not wasting time. That enable us to live better as we grow older, perhaps. 🙂

  7. Honest words. Time is swallowed up with work and tiredness due to work. I have little if any memories of my 20s and 30s. Going back into education put things into perspective for me. I have regrets also but I also have hope. I enjoyed your blog.

  8. Wow, this is the result after being abscene for a while? That is very deep! On my side of reflection is rather shallow perhaps..i wish took different major of study but then what would happen if I did? Time leaves us wander but as we grow old, it is better to move forward and looking to the new excitement 🙂

    Well written post!

    1. Hello Indah,

      Yeah, after a long absence I could come up only with this 😛

      I also think moving forward things will always get better as you said 🙂

      Have a great day!

  9. Dear Time Traveller – any time spent is good time.. No time is wasted, it is only balanced. Remove the guilt for every moment spent with unwanted people doing uncared things. It only adds to experience. And the time you think you did nothing, you were in a state rejuvenation.. Run ahead without even a speck of guilt ..

    1. Well, that’s a great way of looking at it. You are very much right.

      Everyone in this world is a time-traveler 😀 They spend years and decades in this beautiful world 🙂

  10. ‘You leap forward agile as a Cheetah’ – I like your perspective on time. Time is the scarcest resource that depleted with each passing moment, Yes. we have to keep pace with the times but at the same time we also need to conserve or replenish our energies to spend it at the opportune moments. And most important of all is to enjoy the time travel. Wish you a wonderful journey ahead. 🙂

  11. Hit a chord somewhere. Isn’t it strange, when we are living a moment we really don’t realise the value of it. Its only when it doesn’t happen or when its over we crave for it? Beautifully penned Anoop!

    1. Thank you so much Divya. I am glad you could relate to this post somehow 🙂

      We never realize how soon we are ageing. I hope you enjoy every moment traveling and clicking 🙂

  12. Worst is not being aware that something called Time exists! I took it for granted… I did not even acknowledge its hold and now I am filled with regrets about the things I should have done. I understand!

  13. Babaji,

    Aap kahan ho?
    Suddenly missed your gyaan conversations so dropped by..

    This post I had seen earlier, didn’t know what to say, everyone here has plenty of nice things to say about not stewing in too much regret or making sure what follows counts.

    But if you are anything like me (which I guess is a lot),people like us need that kick on the bum to realise things, last minute running across the platform to chase the train kind of excitement, or learning lessons the hard way, forgetting them and relearning the same crap.

    So here’s to us, dazed and lazy, may we always meet people to waste time with, sleep an extra hour, watch another episode of a YouTube series, make mistakes, yet at the end of the day manage a smile and make a to-do list for the next day 🙂

    And quoting rumi,
    ‘This being human is a guest house.
    Every morning a new arrival.

    A joy, a depression, a meanness,
    some momentary awareness comes
    As an unexpected visitor.

    Welcome and entertain them all!
    Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
    who violently sweep your house
    empty of its furniture,
    still treat each guest honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.

    The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
    meet them at the door laughing,
    and invite them in.

    Be grateful for whoever comes,
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond’

    Post more often!!!!!

    1. Hey Nisha,

      I think this comment came in at a very needed time for me 🙂 Well, you know when to let me know that you are alive… hehe

      I’m pretty much like you. Getting late and running down the corridors and stairs, lazing around, listening to youtube ghazals and later complaining that I didn’t get enough time to do my stuff, lol.

      The Rumi’s quote was something which made a lot of sense. Don’t know how much I can follow it though.

      I wish you good health 🙂 Take care!

      1. Beta! You will make this old babaji come to you or you will come and see me? 😛

        Well, I’ll come re, sometime this year? maybe? Meet you under some banyan tree over a cup of chai and parle g 😀

      2. Babaji you may be, but I’m proper fakir 😀

        Yaaaaay! You remember! Babaji ki jai ho! 🙂

        Parle g nahi! Those biscuits trigger the abuse button in my head, damn things always always always fall into the cup of chai!

      3. The cup of chai is to dissolve those biscuits beta. The only motto in the life of a parle g biscuit is to fall in the cup of chai 😛

      4. It’s so so frustrating yet that biscuit which then drops into the chai is immensely tasty too! 😀
        And I usually fish it out and relish to which MA tches! 😛

  14. OMG! If we actually got down to summarising time well-spent and time wasted, I guess each one of us would want to rewind! Why oh Anoop, why! Why would you make me peep back with such power-packed words!

    1. Isn’t it good to do a retrospect of times we spent? 😀 I’m glad I was a reason for you to look back at those good and bad times.

      It is easy for me to rewind cos most of these recent years were pretty much wasted, sadly.

      Well, we all hope for a better tomorrow. So do I 🙂

      Have a great day!

    1. Hello Minty ji,

      How are you?

      I am glad you can also relate to this post. 😀 Everyone has wasted a few years here and there, I wasted a lot of it 😛

      Have a great day!

      1. It just depicts my current state. I’m silent and I’m in tranquility, yet I’m alive 🙂

        Thank you and have a great day!

  15. Well, this time, the time traveler is wrong! He hasn’t realized that he has learnt importance of time, which is the greatest lesson of life.. 😀 and many little things which had added beauty to the journey which can never be explained.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

