In memory of Germany

Five out of seven times, feelings like happiness, excitement, sorrow hits us hard. It is seldom that happiness hits you like a slow poison; instead of drowning you instantly, taking time and dissolving you into itself.

If you follow football, the pleasure you get while watching Ronaldinho dribble or the excitement you feel when you watch Messi walk past a bunch of defenders, is what I feel now. When you see Ricardo Kaka run with the ball, it’s pure magic and you feel happy watching him run with great pace and the ball stuck to his feet. Slow poison.

If you follow F1, the feel you get watching Aryton Senna drive through the rains. Ruthless yet with much skill. Such a pleasure to watch him find grip in the rains even after pushing hard. One of the best drivers to have lived. Slow poison.

If you follow cricket, you know exactly how I feel now when you watch Sachin Tendulkar bat. I never followed cricket but never missed watching Sachin bat and would turn off TV the instant he was dismissed. That wonderful style of play. For me it was not about the runs he scored, but the mesmerizing play style. One of the most graceful batsman in the history of the sport. Slow poison.

If you follow boxing, watching old videos of Mike Tyson must be something you do. The movements, the precision, the style; something we love about him.  You can’t help thinking that he is class apart. Slow poison.

A trip to Europe was an installment of happiness I longed for. It was a big dream and it came true recently. One of my biggest wishes were to ride a motorbike through the countryside. That remains unfulfilled. But I drove around in car’s (not one but couple of good cars). I stayed in a hostel, drove around the country side, ate street food, visited churches, enjoyed the drizzle. Looking back it will definitely be one of the best things to have happened to me in my boring life. I was not overwhelmed with joy but the happiness stayed consistent. I was calm and happy when thinking about the upcoming trip and now I’m calm and happy for the memories that I have from my trip. Indeed memories are precious.

It will be a pleasure to share some of them here, not only for everyone reading my blog…but for myself as well. Few years down the line I would love to come back here and read about my first Euro trip and smile thinking about it all over again.

tn_DSC_0003

From Stuttgart, Germany.

27 thoughts on “In memory of Germany”

  1. Aww! Loved the intro and the description… Could definitely relate to the soccer part.. And Germany, yes. Was there just a week back, in Frankfurt. But, you definitely seem to have seen more of Germany! Would love to hear more about your trip. 🙂 Great piece of writing!

    1. Football enthusiast ehh!!! 😀

      I couldn’t do much at Frankfurt. I was there for a short while as well. 🙂 Glad you liked the intro.

      Take care!

      1. Haha, yes definitely! More of a Spain fan, but as and when the team players change, I switch my allegiance to Germany. 😜 Perks of belonging to a country who doesn’t partake in major matches. 😀
        I see. Cities don’t fascinate me much, so no regrets. 😛
        Thanks, and you take care, as well!

  2. It’s great to know you are having a good time and enjoying your trip. Nothing like travelling, it rejuvenates us and makes us better people 🙂

    This one was a nice introductory post…looking forward to see some beautiful pictures and an interesting travelgue… 🙂

  3. Great intro, Anoop! I know you’ll enjoy so much. I have been Europe every year for 12 summers… Can’t wait to read your travel stories and photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

