Chapter 4 – The Museums

My aim : To not have another post describing about Museum visits. 


Plan : Porsche Museum, Mercedes Museum, Piggy Museum.

Actual: For once I covered all the places I planned for.

Porsche Museum

The Mercedes museum and Porsche museum are high up in the list of must visit places in Stuttgart. Porsche museum is close to Stuttgart and worth 2 hrs of your time. I’m not a great fan of vintage cars. Some people love classic cars, vintage cars but I really don’t take a particular liking to them. Porsche museum is more than just vintage cars. They have a collection of modern day cars, they have the cars used for Le Mans race, the GT cars and they also have a few accelerator pedals of their famous cars; step on them and hear the engine noise . The entry fee is 8 Euro. You get an audio guide which you can use to know about each display car.

Now let the pics do all the talking…’

tn_DSC_0335

tn_DSC_0342

tn_DSC_0336

tn_DSC_0339

tn_DSC_0340

Rev machine!
Rev machine!
tn_DSC_0348
One of my favorite modern day cars!!!

tn_DSC_0350

Any guesses?
Any guesses?

tn_DSC_0361

Mercedes Museum

As compared to Porsche Musuem, Mercedes has a much bigger museum. One can easily spend 3-4 hrs roaming around and listening to the audio guide. Their collection is huge. Again it is close to Stuttgart but in the opposite direction of Porsche museum.

Again let pics do all the talking…

worlds first engine
worlds first engine
A lot of old cars
A lot of old cars
Some more old cars
Some more old cars

tn_DSC_0216

A racing car on a flat bed
A racing car on a flat bed. This is a special flat bed though. A very fast flat bed!
Same racing car with a race driver, who is without a helmet.
Same racing car with a race driver, who is not wearing a helmet. Guess he is Indian.
The infamous 300 SL with those Gold wings.
The infamous 300 SL with those Gull wings.

tn_DSC_0225

Merc Arena. I think this is the home ground of VFB Stuttgart
Merc Arena. I think this is the home ground of VFB Stuttgart
Oh what a beauty! Never in this life time I'll end up in one of those....*sobs*
Oh what a beauty! Never in this life time I’ll end up in one of those….*sobs*
Guessing these should be wet tires, got treads.
Guessing these should be wet tires, got treads.
Finally, lot of cars
Finally, lot of cars

 

Piggy museum aka Schwine museum

This was a very different museum from the above two and most probably every adult and kid would enjoy going here. This museum is made up of small scale and large scale models of pigs. It is a very interesting place and smiles are guaranteed.

tn_DSC_0252

tn_DSC_0260

tn_DSC_0261

tn_DSC_0282

tn_DSC_0290

tn_DSC_0298

tn_DSC_0306

tn_DSC_0295

tn_DSC_0307

tn_DSC_0308

These are some pics and there is much more to this place than these pics. It was a feel good place and despite I went there very tired, I could still enjoy Schwine museum more than the other two. The Entry fees is 6  Euros per head.

All the museums are very close to Stuttgart Central Station, each of them connected via local U or S bahns (trains). Please check the timings in the respective websites. Most of them are 9 am to 5:30 pm with Schwine museum having a bit more time extension.


 

16 thoughts on “Chapter 4 – The Museums”

    1. True Indah, but I never looked at it as a photo opportunity. I was just walking around.

      Nice to see you after a long time 🙂

  1. The car after the 918, it’s a Carrera GT, isn’t it 😉

    The tires on the F1 car seem to be a set of inters, not wets.

    What can I say man, fabulous pics. 😍

    I was hoping you’d get a shot of the Red Pig though. It’s a staple at the Merc museum I heard.

    1. Yeah it’s a Carrera GT. Yeah the tires could be inters as well. I won’t argue with you at all on this 😛

      Yeah, there was that 6.8L thing. I think I have clicked it’s pic and it’s somewhere in my mem card. I’ll include it in the post 🙂

      Nice to see you here 😉

Leave a Reply

