Adieu, Auf Wiedersehen, farewell my dearest GTi

Around 3 years before, even before I started this blog, I had bought my first car. Must have cost me 4500$ in total, but was entirely my money. The first car in my life, the first car in our family. My parents don’t use a car even today and we are quite used to that. Motorbikes have always been my first love and somehow that spread to cars as well. I see them as things of passion unlike many who think of them as metal boxes with four tires and airbags. That’s why it hurt a bit lotΒ to see my car go, but alas it had to be done. I had to let go of it and move on with life, so no regrets at all.

tn_DSC_0001

But what I regret the most is that I couldn’t do a few modifications to the car and enjoy it a bit more. Don’t get me wrong, I loved driving it every single day. Not a day I was bored of it. Yes, there was a lack of power as compared to the bigger cars but the fun factor was there. A bit lighter and this would have been a pocket rocket. Finally when I sorted everything, it was time to give it away. That’s life I guess.

 

tn_DSC_0498
I’ll miss the beautiful engine noise from this old school engine.

 

I'll miss taking pictures of it in the desert
I’ll miss taking pictures of it in the desert

 

I'll miss this steering wheel with no electric steering assist; plain and simple. I'll miss this bomb proof yet butter smooth gearbox.
I’ll miss this steering wheel with no electric steering assist; plain and simple yet handles like a go-kart. I’ll miss this bomb proof yet butter smooth gearbox; precise and slick shifts. Those heel & toes and rev matches, I’ll miss

 

I'll miss seeing the revs fly from 3000 to 6500. So linear and void of any induction.
I’ll miss seeing the revs fly from 3000 to 6500. So linear and void of any forced induction.

 

I'll miss those seats, they give me a warm hug from the back whenever I sit in the car. Was so low to the ground and felt home.
I’ll miss those seats, they give me a warm hug from the back whenever I sit in the car. Was so low to the ground and felt home.

Is there anything I do not miss? No.

I hope the car has found a better parking spot and a better owner than me.

 

abc

Goodbye GTi!


 

22 thoughts on “Adieu, Auf Wiedersehen, farewell my dearest GTi”

      1. Hopefully some really good ones! I’ve got a few in my Jeep! πŸ˜‰ I am doing well, pretty busy. Hope you are doing well too! Look for snail mail coming soon! 😊 Have a nice day and evening Anoop!

  1. I know yhat feeling. . I had a mitsubishi sports.. I bought 1997 ..It had been with me since.. I have changed at least three cars since then but the mitsubishi stayed on my drive till 3 weeks back when I finally let go of it..

    It is heartbreaking yes. Because my first car bought wit my own money..

    But it had to go as I did not have any more space.. I was parking my lexus on road.. not fair.. and I sold it as scrap for 150 pounds.. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    1. 97 till 2016, oh…long time. Must have been really hard.

      UK has a lot of really good cheap cars, I would have owned at least 6 or 7… hehe.

      I’m sure you will move on, so will I. We will always get a chance to drive beautiful cars πŸ™‚

      Cheers!

  2. I feel you. I was bit emotional as well when letting go my Ford Ghia. It was not my first car though, but it has been my daily transport to my work. Our friend has the car now. At least I know she is in good hand πŸ™‚ I hope yours too πŸ™‚

      1. I am sure your GT will be in a safe hands! I am back now with Ford Focus..only this time he is much younger than Ghia. It is hard to move on.. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

