Worn ‘n’ Torn

Day 1:

The other day, I was leaving office. Back at the parking lot I looked at my Motorbike; old, worn and tired…kind of like the person who drives it. Since it is from a previous era, there is no push start buttons to your aid. Just the old school kick start.

While making my way through the traffic, I couldn’t help but think:

‘I wonder what must be on it’s mind? Will it be happy with itself in comparison with other motorbikes around? sure couldn’t be’

‘The newer bikes could run a riot around this one. They will achieve in less than 4000 rpm, what my bike won’t be able to at redline. What still keeps this motorbike running other than the fuel I pour in?’

I must admit it looks decent,the body is still in good shape especially the paint. It looks classic with it’s old school naked bike styling. I haven’t done much to ruin its look.

‘But how long just with your looks? Not fast, not really efficient, just an average motorbike.’

Would the motorbike feel itself useless, if it had a soul… I wondered. Times have changed so have many things.

‘No one cares for how much of a head-turner you were once upon a time. That time is clearly over. It feels today though that you have no real value apart from a few people looking at you once in a while. You are being over-taken left right and center by bigger, better and more desirable motorbikes.’

‘Knowing all this how do you put yourself on the road every single day. Just literally to be mocked and over-taken by well-equipped , better sounding and better looking motorbikes. How do you manage son? Isn’t it an inch by inch death?’

Day 2:

It rained heavily in the past 3 hours and there is no signs of rains stopping for another couple of hours. I was moving alongside the slow traffic. The water was ankle deep and didn’t concern me at this point.

Moving further, water level rose and soon it reached knee level. This concerned me a little but I chose not to stop. The engine is still clear of water, so is the exhaust.

In just a matter of minutes, the water level rose from knee level to hip level. Cars stopped, other motorcycles stopped by the side. I could see those motorcycles almost submerged in the water. My logic was to open the throttle and not let water in the exhaust, since the exhaust was below water level. Stupid logic, but at that time it occurred to me as a bright idea. Did the motorbike stop? Yes at the last stretch of water logged street it did. Did it start again? Yes. It limped with me on our way back home.

Day 3:

The motorbike was still alive. It worked as if if nothing happened yesterday. It kept running and it still does.


 

6 thoughts on “Worn ‘n’ Torn”

  1. I smiled reading this post. When I lived in Malaysia those kick start motorbikes were so common. I’d always watch people kick them with might…motorbikes can look frail but they can be so fast and powerful too. You bike sounds like it can handle anything and it’s not afraid of getting wet 😊

    1. Glad this post reminded you of something from the past πŸ™‚ The motorbike is pretty much alive and is half my age, so yeah kind of tough …hehe

  2. Your bike may be all shiny new, or ‘worn n torn’ as you put it. NONE of it matters, as long as you love your bike. It is our steed, our faithful companion, and us bikers will always treasure them.
    Don’t forget, all the new bigger bikes whizzing past you owe it all to your bike, the bike which kick started the performance biking trend in our economy obsessed country. Ride safe, and keep munching those miles! πŸ™‚

    1. The old friend stays as long as it can πŸ™‚

      Just reminded of this blog by incoming comments alone these days. Of course, I do remember you. Your friendship is one of the good things that came out of this blog. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

